the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Saturday, May. 29, 2004 - 1:29 a.m.

And the hits just keep on a-comin'.

So doll mall wasn't enough. We now have the "heartwarming story" of a young girl "living a privileged life" with her grandmother. Wow. Sorta gets me. Right here.

Ya know, I tried to read three of those books once. Bearing in mind I *like* children's literature. I was unimpressed. And that was back before they turned into a multi-media chain adventure. However, not everyone likes Harry Potter, either, so to each his own. I'm sure it will turn out to be a very nice family movie, and I suppose this society could use a few more family-oriented movies, so I have no objection, it's just the franchise that gets me. A lot.

But then, I'm fairly bitter right now, as my entire life is slowly dissolving around me, so take that with however large a grain of salt you need to in order NOT to label me a bitch, and please continue.

Did I say dissolving? Shattering is a much better word. And not so much slowly, actually. Lives probably do not hang in the balance, but it does suck tremendously, so let's just move on, shall we?

I take that back. Let's vent. I went to pick up my paychecks today, and not one but actually both were not there. As in, will not be there until next week. As in all those wonderful bank debits I have to pay for owning my own company are going to ricochet off the walls until they rack up quite a hefty sum of NSF charges, come Tuesday. Ah, life on the edge. I realize that in the giant scheme of suckage that is my life right now, this is a minor thing, but if I were to vent about the rest, I'd sob, so let's just go with that, shall we?

Okay. NOW move on.

Thanks to Jonny C for pointing out that movie link above, and here's a bit of amusement to share on the whole AG experience. :) It's cowritten by Jonny C's friend Wendy McClure, who writes Poundy*, and Shylo Bisnett. My favorite part is the caption under the last picture.

*I have to say, I do not get Wendy's mileage out of bighappyfunhouse, at all.

I am already predisposed to like Wendy even if she is all the way out there in Shee-cah-go, because she is a good friend of Jonny C, and whether she knows it or not, we have a few issues - well, okay, one issue in particular - in common. However, I have to say this page cracked me up to an alarming degree. It's just damned funny, and several times I laughed really hard. Lookout, Mimi Smartypants; you may have met your blogging match. :)

And Now a Little Something for the more Watery ones among you...
The more astute of my faithful readers - you know, those of you with memory spans rather akin to elephants - will remember I said some time ago I had learned a little something about Television Without Pity that I would one day get around to sharing.

Well, my friends, that day is now.

It would seem I rather missed the point of the whole TVWoP concept, which was basically, more or less, boiled down to my own bungling explanation, to bag on good shows gone bad. Or, you know, when the writers took little mental holidays and wrote really stupid episodes just for the purpose of garnering a paycheck with as little effort as possible that week.

WHAT?! TV PEOPLE ACTUALLY DO THAT???

Hell yes, they do, and a lot more often than you might think, even judging from the sad shape of most television episodes.

Okay, sarcasm over. Sorry. I am still bitter about my missing money. Bygones.

Anyway, that's basically why TVWoP got it's start. I guess the snarkiness just sort of naturally evolved from there so that apparently EVERY episode of television is good tv gone bad, but whatever. It seems there was originally a lot more to that explanation, and I remember coming away from the discussion with a much greater understanding of the snark and the reasons behind it and a healthy respect for those involved, but I can no longer for the life of me remember it all. But then, I suffered thru the Chrisser between now and then, and that experience pretty much wiped the entire 8 weeks of that show from my mind, and a good chunk of the weeks on either side of it, so most of the explanation has gone the way of the dodo bird, I fear. I'm sorry. I will try to get it down quicker next time. The bottom line is it's not really meant as a way just to bag on tv writers but more to shame them into writing good television more than bad.

By George; I think that was the actual correct gist of the whole thing! I had better quit while I'm ahead. :)

Give Me a Break
You know, I had ended this little entry, but then I went to read Ms. Smartypants, and stumbled across the link to another diaryland diarist, who so very much needs a reality check, I don't even know where to begin, and I'm not just sayin' that because I happen to enjoy reading the aforementioned Mimi Smartypants. For this yahoo to call anyone self-absorbed is breathtaking in its arrogance and lost irony. His weblog actually has links to - and I am not kidding - "My Pre-Blog Writing on the Web", including his "hobby-related site".

Oh, yes, he did. But, you know, he's not self-absorbed.

Now, understand, I don't know Mr. Mt. Hollywood. He may be a very nice person, though I have a hard time seeing him as loving giver, judging from the things he chooses to write about and the language he uses to express himself. Then again, he'd probably find very little to like about me, were he to judge merely by my writing here, and I'm sure there are quite a few conservatives who have dropped by in the year and a half or so I've been keeping this little diary, who feel I'm a scathingly useless bitch of epic proportions who should have been euthanized in my whore of an unwed birthmother's womb...or would think that, if they believed in abortion. Instead, I'm sure they think I should just be shot or imprisoned now, being, as I was, born without sin, but managing to fuck it up admirably just the same in the ensuing years.

But I digress. Mr. Man might be a perfectly nice human being, but it really kinda galls me when people stick their snippy little noses up in the air and bag on people for crimes of which they themselves are blatantly guilty. Not to mention obsessively so. Or when they make false claims and read their own expectations into someone else's life, seemingly purposely missing the point and being deliberately obtuse as a means to shoot down dissent. The words "sanctimonious twit" kind of leap to mind, though again, that might just be because I'm fairly bitter about a certain person doing that to me right now, and it wouldn't be a nice thing to say at any rate, and I've no interest in getting into a flame war or pissing contest with this guy or his readers, so take that with yet another grain of salt and move on. It's not like Mimi Smartypants needs me or anyone else leaping to her defense, anyway. But I just kinda had to make the observation.

And now I have.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.

"I just like telling them I'm a logger, and then they think I work on trees."
--Pamie



*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1