the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Tuesday, Aug. 16, 2005 - 10:36 p.m.

Introducing...the Tuesday Treasures. Taking a page from the Sunnflower's Friday Finds and building on the idea, I have started highlighting a different independent artisan in my commercial weblog over on Dragonfly. Since this blog has a higher readership, and since I like the people I am writing about and want them to do well, I think it a good idea to post the Treasures over here, too...if I have nothing more personal to blog about that day, anyway. The Friday Finds I post over on Dragonblog tend to be fashion-oriented and different from the ones I post here, so I'll probably start posting a link to them along with the usual Friday Finds, so those of you who like a little fashion with your Friday can peruse at your leisure. :)

But I digress. Today's foray into the Tuesday Treasures is Yatta bags:

Working from the theory you can tell a lot about a person by the purse she carries, former fashion major Jeaneen Benson has designed a line of accessories with style and verve all their own.

Yatta's product line includes handbags, clutches, wallets, checkbook covers, idea books and art, as well as the Yatta-trademarked "clutchlet": adorable handbags sized between a wallet and a clutch, perfect for the girl on the go who hates to be bogged down with heavy bags. The clutchlet also has a handy wrist strap, so if you're like me and avoid clutches like the plague but don't like to carry an actual bag just because it has a strap, the clutchlet may be the purse for you. My favorite style is the adorable vintage fabric Lamb, though the Blu Kitty also caught my eye!

If clubbing is your thing, Yatta's wristlets measure approximately 9 x 7" and will hold a wallet, keys, and lipstick. I love the soft pink felt Pear.

In addition to smaller wristlet bags and clutches, Yatta also offers the Lola line of larger bags featuring exclusive artwork by Enrique Torres. There are currently three bags in the series, available now. The Camille line also heeds the call of the large purse set, with plenty of room inside the attractive, utilitarian handbag. I have to admit to finding Kittens adorable. :)

Using sturdy outer fabrics like denim brocade and wool felt, Benson lines her constructions with vintage and whimsical fabric of dolls and bunnies or vibrant tropical scenes and flowers. She accents them with ribbons, lace, Swarovski crystal, and "windows" that provide glimpses of lining. After all, what earthly good is a cute kitty lining no one but the wearer ever sees? I appreciate this attention to detail and the care and creativity Benson obviously employs with each creation. And I love that she offers a reduced price outlet offering "projects gone wild" - items which, for one reason or another, did not meet Benson's production standards. I can not tell you how much I love this long wallet with its cheery sheer flower accent and the kicky-fun Butterfly bag.

I wonder what Benson would think that says about me?

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.

Who was that guy?
I don't know. But whoever he is, he's weird...and pissed off.



*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1