the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Tuesday, Nov. 26, 2002 - 10:42 p.m.

I feel exceedingly frustrated and irritable. I would think it's PMS, but I have 2 more weeks left in my handy little ortho-novum 7/7/7 pack, so it should not be that. Did you get that, Mr. G-man? Better toss it in my dossier, though you'll have that info and more soon, now that Idiotboy has signed his big-business-friendly Homeland Security Act.

Okay. Enough of that, I think.

I am still avoiding the news, to the everlasting thankfulness of you, my gentle readers. It's okay. I'm willing to make that sacrifice for you, coz I love ya. And, you know, there's also that little pathological need to be liked.

Bygones.

Pardon me a moment...must go change the channel to unobtrusive and inane sitcom babble instead of news. (no, seriously; I'm getting up to do that right now)

Okay, back. I did find this in my newsfiles, though: scientists have decided an asteroid like the one that "hit" Tunguska, in Siberia, only runs into earth every 1000 years, instead of every 2 or 300. Since the Tunguska event was in 1908, I guess it'll be 2908AD before another happens along. Which is a good or bad thing, depending on how you look at it. If one were to come along next week and, say, land on the White House, I would not consider that necessarily a bad thing. I might even find myself suddenly a lot cheerier. So there's that to look forward to - the scientist guys could be wrong. I mean, once upon a time, they thought the earth was flat and the center of the universe. Shuh.

That was a trivia question for me, once, btw: Tunguska. I had to put 4 events in order, from earliest to most recent. I missed Tunguska by a year. I also had to do it on a game show, once, only the four events were the Russian Revolution, the sinking of the Titanic, the end of WWI, and I think the start of the Great Depression. I missed it, because for some stupid reason, I was thinking Tchaikovsky's War of 1812. Which as any idiot can tell you, was actually when Napoleon invaded Russia. Color me so red. The Russian Revolution was in 1917. Titanic sank in 1912, WWI ended in 1918 (although treaty not signed until Jan. 1919), and the stock market crashed in 1929. Which I actually missed by a year, thinking it was 1930, but all I had to do was put them in order, so that would have been okay, had I not screwed up the Russian thing. You try putting stuff like that in correct order under hot lights on a soundstage in front of bunches of people and at least 3 television cameras, knowing you're going out live and looking like an idiot. At least I was charming; everyone said so. I would rather have won the money, though. Oh well; bygones.

So anyway, that's about it for today. I'm really depressed and trying not to foist that on people, so it might be better to end now, on a decent note. I don't know if it's being out of school and having nothing fun to concentrate on, or what. Maybe it's the rapid approach of Christmas and having no money to spend, maybe it's the state of politics, who knows. Let us go now. But first, let's have some 80's movie trivia, shall we? Yes, let's!

80's Movie Trivia, or How Katie Squandered her Youth
And no fair cheating and running off to imdb to look up the answers. You either know it, or you don't, L7.

1. Who said "*I* could be the Walrus; I'd still have to bum rides off of people."?

2. What is the follow up line to this one: "Stop rhyming. I mean it!"?

3. In the movie "Risky Business," what song is playing in the background when Joel's parents call during the party, and what musical artist/group is it by?

4. What Steinbeck novel set in Monterrey, California, was the basis for a movie starring Debra Winger?

5. What movie soundtrack featured the pairing of Heart's Ann Wilson and Loverboy's Mike Reno, and what was the name of the song they recorded for it?

Good luck, cats and kittens.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.

"Ism's, in my opinion, are not good."




*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1