the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Monday, Jun. 26, 2006 - 2:25 a.m.

So, okay, all I got done this weekend was the mask samples I had to send out for the June Little Black Box. But um, they looked fabulous and so adorable that I found myself wishing *I* could have one, so hopefully the recipients will dig them. I went all out, too, with little aluminum tins with clear plastic lids and labels and the whole 9 yards. I guess $40 isn't much to spend on advertising, but I wish I'd gotten a little more mileage outta that 40 bucks; it only netted 30 samples.

Friday night was Jonny-C's spousal equivalent's birthday, and they threw a karaoke bash, which I attended when I got out of work at 10pm. It was awesome. :) There was much singing - some of it good, some...not so - and tomfoolery. Jonny-C was feelin' no pain and serenaded me with Duran Duran's "View To a Kill," in honor of my pending trip. It was hysterical, complete with gestures and total theatrics, and I died laughing. I sang my old karaoke standby, Johnny B. Goode, which is a good one to sing, because it's right in my range and I don't have to worry about my voice going all wobbly and completely atonal if I get nervous. I sang it for so many years doing musical dinner theatre that I know I sound all right, so I'm not terrified...much. Tom (the birthday boy) sang "The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face," which I actually really hate, but I was really impressed with his voice. I knew he used to sing, but I'd never heard him before, so I had no idea how good he was, and he was really good. If I'd been wearing a thicker shirt and not thin nylon, I'd have taken my bra off and thrown it at him. :) Jennifer sang Pat Benetar's "Heartbreaker," and I swear, I have not laughed that hard in ages. Seriously, I was shrieking, she was just that hysterical. :) And there were 3 people there who I swear totally channeled other people. Marcella had us dying laughing with her dead on impression of Cher, singing "Half-Breed," and Jeff Coatney did Al Gore talk-singing a hysterical version of "My Way," complete with adlibs. :) He also did a great Frank Sinatra, but I can't remember the song. And Marcella's husband John did an awesome Bob Dylan when he sang "Like a Rolling Stone." At the end of the night, I sang "Makin' Whoopee," because most people were gone and I didn't feel like a dork anymore, and it seemed like it went okay. :) My only regret is that I missed Jonny-C's rendition of "Hungry Like the Wolf". Again. That thing is legendary, and somehow I keep missing it. :( But all in all, I think it was the best, most fun party I've ever been to. :)

I also closed down Dragonfly until November 1st this weekend, which was an odd feeling, even thought I knew I was going to have to do it. I filled my last order on Thursday and will mail the mask samples tomorrow...after which I need to:

Make an appointment at the torturer's office to get my teeth cleaned

Order contact lenses online

Buy enough contact lens cleaner and saline to last 3.5 months and mail it to myself in Paris

Find everything I need to do my taxes

Call CompUSA to see if I can get the camera I want delivered to another CompUSA store so that I don't have to drive all the way down to Culver City in triple digit heat with no a/c while sitting on the parking lot that is the 405

Buy toothbrushes and toothpaste and dental floss...because if I learned anything from Pretty Woman, it's that you shouldn't neglect your gums

Dig out the housemate's Bom Pack from the storage shed so that I can turn it inside out and Fabreeze the hell out if before I pack all my stuff into it, so that this time, everything I own will not be infused with a weird, funky smell - I will not go into the irony of packing something called a Bom Pack for a flight I am already freaking out is marked as a target by radical extremists.

And maybe, if I have time, burn some cd's to take with me so that I won't have to worry about leaving cd's I really like in Paris when I come home.

And that's just one day. See why I geek?

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1