the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Thursday, Aug. 31, 2006 - 12:55 p.m.

Man, you guys, I'm tired. I got up at 7:30 this morning for the cable guy, and then went out to photograph the 3,300 year old Egyptian obelisk once belonging to Ramses II at Concorde and walk down to the Louvre. I was going to take pictures of Pete at the ferris wheel, but here's a surprise: it's a summer thing. I never knew that. I found out because they dismantled it today. Bummer. But I continued on to the Louvre to take pictures of the pyramid(s), and spent like 3 hours doing that, basically doing a lot of squats and crunches. I got pictures of Pete with the obelisk, pyramid, and looking at sidewalk art, so those of you who keep up with Pete's diary will be happy to know he has entries coming up. He also got a little friend (a little pink elephant that resembles the Eiffel Tower and whom I named Elle), because I felt bad that I was leaving him home alone some days. Now of course I'm taking him with me every day, but oh well. And no, I am not psycho enough to think my stuffed bear needs company, but um, he kinda does...it's a long story that goes back to my childhood, and I know it's idiotic, but I can't seem to help it, so shut up.

Today's grab-happy guy also kissed me. On the cheek, thank god. He went in for it before I had half a chance to move, but the next guy who gets literally closer than 3 feet to me, I'm going to have to tell to step the fuck back. Seriously, if I'm not taking pictures, no one even talks to me. Stick a camera in my hand, and I may as well have a huge fucking bullseye painted across my chest and back. It must say "touriste" right in the center. I don't know how else to explain it. But it would be nice if just freaking one of them were actually educated and cute.

Yes, I am snobby like that. Call me elitist and move on.

I'm pretty filthy. Need to hit the showers. I sat on the ground a lot to day, among other things. I'm sure my bag and everything I had on is really dirty. I also fell and dropped my camera today. :( The brand new one. The one that didn't have a scratch or mark on it because I'm a freak for it on accounta how pretty it was. Not so much anymore. The front and one side are all dinged and scratched up from where it bounced (yes, *bounced*) on the concrete, which was uneven and rocky and also had a nice gritty layer of sand. Not enough to cushion anything, just enough to get the sandpaper action going. :( I really wanted to cry. I also have a nice deep bruise on the back of my hand just above my wrist, where I tried to save the camera in the fall. To no avail, alas. But at least it didn't land on its back. If it had, the LCD would be toast right now. As is, I'm freaked I knocked something loose inside. I guess time will tell, but it is bobbling now in a way that it wasn't pre-fall. :(

The IM Pei Louvre pyramid is really cool, by the way. At least from a photographic standpoint. It's really kind of ugly just to look at, but there are reflecting pools all around it, which are nice, and at night it's lit from inside and much nicer. Taking photographs of it was awesome; I stayed until sunset. We'll see how they came out. At one point, I had a perfect shot across one of the pools with just the pool and the pyramid, and a guy and girl sitting across the pool together in all black. I wanted to get a picture of them kissing, so I started singing "Kiss the Girl," and son of a gun, it actually worked, right after I sang the part about floating in a blue lagoon...which it kinda was. :) I gotta get started on those images as soon as I have some dinner. I don't wanna be up until 5am again.

I swear to you guys, you can set your watch by the neighbor lady's daily bitchfest, and I really think she's a little crazy. I don't know what she was doing in there today, but in addition to the lock turning, she vaccuums a LOT, and today, she must have been opening *cases* of mothballs, because holy CRAP. The smell was so strong that I had a sore throat and my eyes were watering, even through 2 closed doors. You can still smell them in the building when you walk in the front door 5 floors down, 12 hours later.

The cable is no longer locked on the ppv channel, but neither does it work. Beth called me today and told me they were about to lose their phone because they're moving down the road, and the phone guy didn't show up today to put the new phone in and he's suppposed to come back next week. I feel really bad about it, but I started laughing.

Hard.

I have climbed the 4 flights of stairs to my apartment at least 5 times today. Possibly 6. Plus flights of subway steps, a flight of stairs inside a building, steps up to other buildings, curbs, benches, etc. and walking several miles. I'm a little tired. And happy to say I am finally starting to lose a little weight. Not a lot, but when I was going to meet Beth yesterday, I noticed I had to keep hitching up my jeans, and when she saw me, she asked if I'd lost weight. Woohoo!

I'm going to do a cd of Euro music from this summer when I get back home, so if anybody wants one, send me an email. I'll burn free copies for anyone who wants. I'm starting to collect mp3's right now, but I'm having trouble finding Commma Rock, which bums me. I might actually have to buy the album, coz I really have to have that song. :)

Okay, gotta go. Need food badly.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1