the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Friday, Jul. 28, 2006 - 10:23 a.m.

Dear Uncle Sam:

Since when is a protest march terrorism? When did the right of the people to peaceably assemble cease to be a Constitutionally-protected right? Coz, I didn't get the memo, big guy. I mean, it's not even an implied right. It's spelled out right there, in black and white: "Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the government for a redress of grievances."

It's the #1 thing protected by the Constitution. The men who founded this country thought it was so important, they put it at the very top of the list, the first thing on it. Because they had themselves come from a country where that was not a right, and they felt it so important, so core to the values of this new nation, that it should be spelled directly out for everyone to see: "the right of the people peaceably to assemble". More, the people have the right "to petition the government for a redress of grievances."

That means we have the right to protest. It means we have the right to make our voices heard, and you HAVE to pay attention. You can not legislate us out of existence or deny us the right to be heard or intimidate us into being quiet, ESPECIALLY when what we have to say is in direct opposition to your own goals and beliefs. You HAVE to let us speak. That was so important, so necessary to the foundation of this country, the men who created you put it first, above all things. "The right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the government for a redress of grievances."

You're not behaving responsibly, Sam. You are not protecting my Constitutional rights as you have sworn to do. In fact, you are actively seeking to destroy them. And by doing so, you betray my trust. But more, Sam, you hurt my heart. You disappoint and injure me until I actually cry. If I were in another relationship that treated me this way, I'd have to leave. I can't trust you, Sam. You lie, you cheat, you're not even remotely honest, and you sneak around on me all the time, Sam. You say one thing and do another, and you abuse and slap me around, but you do it in such a way that you think the marks don't show, which makes you a really insidious bastard. But the marks do show, Sam. And they make me really not like you. I used to love you more than anything, Sam. I thought you were the greatest guy in the entire world, the most beautiful, pure, wonderful guy, and I was lucky to have you. But you know what? I don't feel that way any more. Now I feel about you the same way I would a lying asshole I caught in my own bed with the skankiest whore in town. I've lost all respect for you, Sam. You've just kicked me around one too many times. I'm really considering leaving you, Sam. I'm not sure for whom, yet, but frankly, I'm tired of your bullshit. I'm tired of the way you casually rip my soul apart, like it's worth less than garbage. I can't stay with you and have any self-respect, Sam. You're just too big a dick, and you squander my money while you're at it. So you really need to shape up, pal. Quick.

Respectfully,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1