the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Monday, Dec. 29, 2003 - 1:55 a.m.

So, like, I hope everyone had a safe and happy Christmas and will have a great New Year, too. Did ya get cool presents? I got a flatscreen monitor to go with the new computer I got for my birthday, so all is well in the 10 square feet or so that passes for my desk area. Woohoo. :) I also got 100 blank cd's, so I am a cd-burning fool, now. I have been wanting to burn cd's for like, the last 4 years and was like the only person in the entire known world unable to do so. But now, with my smoooookin' new pc and 100 blank cd's, get the heck outta my way and watch the mp3's, coz the fur is flyin'. :) I finally get to join in the Christmas compilation cd tradition the rest of my circle enjoys...late, admittedly, but better late than never, right? This year's cd (mine) is entitled The Man with the Bag. Oo. Ah. :) It would be even better if I could actually find all my missing cd's, among which resides my vast collection of Christmas cd's, including, but by no means limited to, The Muppets & John Denver, A Christmas Together (bring us some piggy pudding); Bing Crosby's White Christmas lp; and a Very Special Christmas, Vol. 1, with the totally cool version of Winter Wonderland by the Eurythmics, and the Pretenders' version of Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas, which I love. I sure wish I could find that damn box...

By the way, I wrote a letter to Chevron, the Big Name Oil Company on the corner that Masherboy works at, and they still have not replied. Nada. Nothing. Zip. I guess they don't care that their representatives are grabbing hapless women and accosting them on the lips. It's beginning to really piss me off. And we all know what that's like now, don't we?

I didn't do anything special for Christmas, so I have nothing all exciting and new to report. I went to a party at Jonny C's Christmas Eve, which was pretty fun. And I had the sad misfortune to end up shopping on Dec. 23, which I do not recommend. It took me about 20 minutes to actually make it into the mall parking lot, another 30 to find a space, and then I stood in line at one of those Gap-like stores for 45 minutes, which was rather hideous, but all the gifts I stood holding for all that time were well-received, so it's okay. Everyone but TB is getting their stuff late, because frankly, I had neither the time, money, nor inclination to deal with any of it before Christmas. I'm not all that sure I feel like dealing with any of it now, either, but oh well. It's bizarre. I usually love Christmas. This time it just snuck right up and past me. Bummer.

The big mystery this Christmas was actually why in hell fricking Target refuses to package black t-shirts together, instead of selling them in packs of 2, one black and one grey. What the hell, Target??? Seriously. I do not *want* one black and one grey t-shirt, I want two black ones. Like I bought last Christmas with no trouble at all. I was able to buy 2-packs of all white and all black tees, no problem. But this year could I do that? Oh, nooooooo. No, this year, you chose to package grey t-shirts with the black, though I notice the white were still all white. So yes, Target, I did it. I opened two separate packs of t-shirts, pulled them apart, and married the blacks and greys into two packs of all grey and all black. And I'm not the first person to do so, either. I saw at least one other pack of all grey t-shirts. I hope you get stuck with a ton of grey t-shirts that won't sell, Target, and let that be a lesson to you. Do not fuck with your consumer's needs. Especially at 5 bucks each for a stupid undershirt, damn it. Give me black, all black, and lots of it. The Boyfriend does not do grey.

That's it for me, now. I have to try to sleep. The stupid flu shanghai'd my sleep schedule and got me all torked around. I'm up until 9am and sleep until 5. This is not good. I have to figure out how to get back to normal, and quickly. I have, however, seen some pretty good movies in the last week, among them My Man Godfrey, which I had never seen before. I love William Powell. He's a funny man. I'd also never seen Carole Lombard before, so that was kind of interesting. I saw The Enchanted Cottage, too, but I don't recommend it. It's just a horrendously sappy movie, and I can actually tolerate sappy. But this one was just plain yick. Mr. Blandings Builds His Dream House was on an hour and a half after it, but I had to go to sleep. Stupid TCM. I *love* MBBHDH. Great film; funny. You should watch it, if you get the chance. Cary Grant and Myrna Loy. Priceless.

Speaking of priceless, I can't *wait* for that damn MC commercial with the rhyming Cat In the Hat theme to die, die, die. I really, really hate it.

VH-1 had some Jessica Simpson thing on tonight, in which some woman, her mother, her agent, someone like that told some story in which Jessica told her that God spoke and said [Jessica's] voice would change the world.

I hardly no where to go with that, folks.

'Course, this is the same Jessica Simpson who doesn't seem to be able to differentiate between tuna in a can and chicken, so it really doesn't surprise me. But while I was willing to look past the Chicken of the Sea Incident, as I am sure it will come to be called, I really can't get past the ego of this little git - pretty and nice as she seems to be - believing her voice will change the world. Hello, Ego.

For more of Jessica's wit, go here. It's almost cute in it's utterly guileless proof it doesn't take much brain power to move a human being.

Which segues nicely into the last bit of this entry. It's been a while since I went on a political rant here, thoughtfully posting them instead in my Freeblog. But seriously, folks. Here we go, and it's a doozy, sure to offend all but my most liberal of readers.

Lighten the hell up, Francis.
If a bunch of Muslim kids in the Republican bastion of Irvine, California - tucked safely into the USMC-guarded arms of conservative Orange County - want to play football with teams named Intifada and Mujahadeen, that's friggin' fine by me, and should be by you, too, given that those words actually have meanings that supercede their use by terrorists. They had meanings before September 11, too. I can't see anything worse in those names than I do in some of the high school team names used across the nation, so take your uptight, egocentric, rah-rah, USA-chanting, go-America ass out of my way before I kick it thus. The Washington Redskins can continue to play pro football under that name no problem, but God friggin' forbid a Muslim league team choose a word that means uprising without an 18 year old kid getting hate mail and death threats. Here's an idea: why don't we just fucking BAN every frigging word in any language that Americans find offensive? And while we're at it, we can trademark, canonize, and carve in bronze-covered stone the phrases September 11 and 9/11.

God, I hate ignorance. Grow the hell up, people. I'm sick of this crap wherein America is the end-all, be-all of everything that is good and right and correct in the world. The idea makes me choke. It's beyond ludicrous, and frankly, I don't give a good goddamn whom I have just offended with that statement. If you don't like it, naff the hell off. I have had it with your tiny minds, your lack of imagination, your egomaniacal Americanism, your insistence on the god-given right NOT to use your fucking brains, and the way you slog mindlessly on, repeating the same old crap the establishment dishes out, never looking right or left, never lifting your head to the horizon, never once checking to see what the weather actually is. You insist everyone behave as politically correctly as possible, but only as long as it applies to America. You don't give a rat's ass who gets hurt or offended or trampled on elsewhere, only in your tiny little corner of the world, and you brutalize anyone who disagrees with you, all wrapped up in the sanctity of the fucking flag. Guess what: that frigging flag is my flag too, and it represents more than you will EVER grasp with your limited ability to think or question. And because I *do* recognize the things for which it stands, the freedoms it represents, the ideals it symbolizes, and am willing to protect them regardless of the personal cost, I have more right to stand beneath it than you ever will.

::sigh::

Happy New Year to one and all. Be safe. Let's hope 2004 sees us all with a little more spring in our steps, joy in our hearts, peace in our souls, compassion and integrity in our leaders, and money in our pockets.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.

Light the lamp, not the rat; light the lamp, not the rat!




*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1