the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Friday, May. 14, 2004 - 12:15 a.m.

I'm sure there must be something amazingly, geekily wrong with me. I have just spent the last several minutes cracking myself up by refreshing my entry page to see how many different ways the new hug counter at the bottom there can tell me I have zero hugs. :)

By the by, many thanks to those of you who have weighed in on the Great Grilled Cheese Debate. :) You've definitely given me food for thought. ;)

Okay, that was just bad. Bygones. :)

For those of you with too much money on your hands, this has to be handsdown, the most ludicrous thing I have ever seen. It's designed by Martha by Mail (that would be Martha Stewart's little mail order company, for those of you who have actual lives in the real world) and is made of mohair. It retailed for $120 but is on sale for $69, so if I were you, I'd rush right out and buy it.

Seriously, though, I am having a seriously crappy day. It started with a stupid argument with TB, which is always just a stellar way to start my day...why don't you just slap me in the face with a big ol' cake froster of crap icing, right now? Because seriously, a fight with TB just screws me up with "I hate my relationship, I hate my life, I hate the choices I've made" and it just builds from there, a gigantic, careening, out of control snowball of Indiana Jones boulder proportions. Because when TB gets pissy, he says really mean, shitty things, and of course he knows all the right ways to cut right to the heart as devastatingly as possible. It sucks, actually. And I guess he doesn't get that every time he does it, I get that much farther away from where I used to be and how I used to feel to be with him, and one day I will be too far away to come back. That's just the way these things work.

I've been thinking a lot lately about growing up Doyle. My parents taught me a lot of shit over the years, most of it unusable. They also left quite a bit out that would have been really nice to know. Like, how to say no without freaking out; that if you are always thoughtful, nice and considerate, other people will walk all over you; that every once in a while you should take the biggest, or the last piece of cake, and not because you want it, but just because someone else does.

Understand, I do not want to be the kind of person that takes that piece of cake, but the world seems to have turned into the kind of world where if you don't fuck with people and take that cake every now and again, they just figure they are always entitled to it and you aren't, and you never, ever get it...unless there's some happy accident resulting in the cake being delivered to you instead of them, or somehow the Fates fucked up and the person handing out the cake is someone who also passes on the cake for others and knows that it's your freaking turn. I used to believe - and I'm sure still do, somewhere deep down in the recesses of my idealistic little soul, since I still can't bring myself to take the damn cake - that if you worked really hard, others would acknowledge that effort and sometimes give you the biggest piece of cake, because you'd earned it. I now know that that almost never happens, but I still think it really sucks that that's so.

I am also learning that if you continually give the cake to others, because it means more to them than it does to you, after a few times, they figure they are entitled to it; it belongs to them, and you will never get it. Ever. Until you finally stand up and say no, today *I* am eating the last piece, at which point they will tell everyone what an unreasonable, selfish bitch you were for stealing from them and taking what was clearly an unfair amount of cake.

Now, for those of you doing the bitching about cake theft, let me clue a few of you in to a thing you seem not to have figured out: just because a person is nice to your asinine little self doesn't mean they're weak. It might mean they need to seriously re-examine their politeness barometer, but it does not mean they are weak. Because I am a considerate, thoughtful, polite human being does not give you the right to walk all over me with your pointy little fuck you shoes. And you'd better watch yourself, because my tolerance only extends so far, and when I get even - and I do get even - I do it in a really nasty, inescapable, completely unexpected way. I am very good at finding opportunity and exploiting it to the fullest. I am even good at creating opportunity and exploiting it to the fullest. I got that way from growing up in the Doyle household and putting up with assholes like you most of my life. So you might wanna give some thought to that the next time you treat somebody like shit and tell yourself you're untouchable. You're not, pally. Trust me.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1