the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Tuesday, Feb. 20, 2007 - 8:38 p.m.

There may come a time when you think to yourself, "Hmmm, lemon-berry icee...I bet that would be good in my Diet Coke," and you will hit your nice cold Diet Coke with a smattering of said Icee flavor, in the belief that it will make a yummy flavoring along the lines of the real cherry syrup you can get at a soda counter.

You will be mistaken, my friends. Horribly, horribly mistaken.

It tastes like cough syrup. Please learn from my pain.

I got to papercut my first segment ever of a television show today. :) It took me pretty much the entire day, because it was really hard to choose what to use, what with the humor being such a subjective thing, but my story editor thought I did a good job and gave me "a good, solid A." :) Then the girl that sits across from me, with whom I now get along was very nice and wrote "A+ Great Job" on a yellow dot and stuck it to my computer. :) I know it's goofy, but that made me feel really good. :) I even seem to be walking the thin line of peace with the possibly-former-asstool, so work does not suck hideously this week. And you have no idea how terrified I am I just jinxed it, and tomorrow the asstool will be back in full force, because I'm pretty sure the tenuous peace we appear to have established is something akin to the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, and really, it could blow at any minute. I prefer tenuous peace to open hostility, so let's hope it stays nice, shall we? And also maybe I'll get to papercut again before the job is over.

For those of you who are wondering what the hell "papercut" means, aside from the usual slicing into one's self with a piece of paper, in teeveeland, it means you edit together a portion of television on paper (editing being called cutting). Basically that means you look at the footage, decide what's going on of interest, and then put down on paper the pieces of footage you think adequately communicate that story or event. You usually do this in a 3-column Word document, where the "bite" (picture and sound you want people to see/hear) goes in the right column, the time it happens goes in the middle column, and the number of the tape the bite lives on goes in the left column. For instance:

0207BOB45 - 11:23:42 - Bob: Susie's really cute. (where the -'s represent the lines between columns)

You show that to the head story guy, who makes notes and gives it back to you. You implement his notes (ie. changes) and then either give it back to him for another pass, or hand it in to the editor, who uses it to pull up the footage he needs to edit the actual footage together into an approximation of what you thought would look good. He makes any changes necessary to make it look good, and then you go sit in the edit bay and look at what he did. On some shows, you discuss what he did and what you had in mind and come to a concensus over how to make it all look good and make sense. On others, once you hand it over, it belongs to him, and he does whatever the hell he wants. On others, he shows you and then waits for your approval or disproval and does whatever you tell him to do to make it better. This is one of the shows where both sides have input, which frankly, I think works better. Unfortunately, the episode I worked on is going to an editor who is very hands-off, so I will not see it again until he's finished with it, and there will be no give and take. He will work his Anakin Skywalker on it, and I'll see it when you do, on the air. And I'm okay with that, frankly. It's only half of an act, and it's my first one. I'm really okay with someone else doing whatever to it. For a day, I got to make creative decisions, so I'm good. :)

And speaking of Anakin Skywalker, holy crap, the second prequel to the Star Wars trilogy SUCKS. It's on a magnitude of suckage heretofore undiscovered by man. I had the misfortune to see part of it this weekend - part of it being all I could stomach, and frankly, I think George Lucas is an unmitigated HACK. I'm going to stop there, because anything else I say will involve lots of shrieking and swear words, but when you are watching a movie, and a scene is so stupefyingly bad as to elicit "Oh, come ON!!!" at the top of your lungs, so that your boyfriend actually comes into the house to see what has upset you so much, and you have to back up and *show* the moment that caused the meltdown on accounta you being speechless at the level of dreckitude, that's a really crappy movie. I say no more. But I am really irked. And holy crap, that is some horrendously bad acting. BAD. BAD.

Okay, I have to go, now. I'm totally exhausted.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1