the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Thursday, Jul. 06, 2006 - 4:55 p.m.

So, the dentist did not go too horribly, though it *was* somewhat traumatic. I think my dentist was actually Pol Pot in another life, because holy crap, that woman is friggin' evil with a sharp, pointy instrument in her hand, and she is not shy about using it. And not necessarily in a well-aimed fashion, either, because at one point she dragged the thing across the exposed root of a tooth, and I very nearly had to be pried off of the ceiling. She's also really aggressive and is all "it's only noise, just relax, that doesn't hurt." Then she jams the thing into one of my teeth and wiggles it in nice and deep, so that when she pulls it out, she actually pulls my head up off the seatback a coupla millimeters with it. I don't think I've ever been so tense in my entire life. I still have a headache from the tension. My teeth and gums hurt for a few hours after the cleaning, too, and frankly, I'm disappointed they don't look better. I mean, they look better than they did, but they don't look better, if you know what I mean.

I also found out I have periodontal disease, which sucks. So I have to have a deep cleaning as soon as I come back from France. That means they numb up your mouth and go in between your teeth and gums, below the surface of the gums, and scrape up the roots of your teeth. It costs $400, and just the thought of having it done fills me with a dread so severe I want to cry. And I have to have it done as soon as I get back from Paris. Oh, the joy.

On the bright side, I have no new cavities. I suppose you can't have everything.

Because of the whole periodontitis thing, my dental regime just changed drastically. I have to start brushing my teeth with Sensodyne, because apparently, it has major amounts of stannous fluoride, which you need when your gums start to recede, and I have to add rinsing with Listerine every time I brush (I was using Crest Dental Care and Act fluoride rinse, but apparently those do not measure up), and then, because apparently I am all about the fluoride now, I also have a prescription fluoride gel, which I am to work into my teeth for 2 minutes and then not rinse, eat, or drink for half an hour. I usually just brush and do the Crest rinse in the morning, then brush, floss and Act rinse at night. And I really hate flossing, so I tend to just do it every *other* day. That's not an option anymore, though, curse my wimpy gums. But considering how long they've been in recession, I suppose I'm lucky it's just now getting to be a real problem.

I ended up getting called into work last night. You know why? Coz I had that day slated for tax prep, that's why. So today is now tax prep day, and tomorrow will be actual yank-the-hair-out tax day. There will much wailing and gnashing of teeth. I'm thinkin' they'll hear it in New Jersey. Sorry about that, Jersey. And all points in between.

Okay. I have to go get something to eat and then come back and begin the arduous process that is tax prep. Which means finding every single paper I will need for my taxes (I have most of the receipts, but I need bank statements and sales invoices), sorting everything out into categories, writing everything out on a sheet of paper (basically a list of the categories), and then crunching all the numbers for each category and writing them down on said piece of paper. Then tomorrow, I sit down and actually plug all the numbers in on the appropriate official forms, and head to the post office. Tomorrow is the "easy" day. Today is the suck. Please pray.

Peace out,
Katie

4:29am update:
Have I mentioned I hate taxes? Because, I really hate taxes.

6:03am Sunday, July 9:
Really, really hate taxes.

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1