the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Friday, Aug. 03, 2007 - 11:09 p.m.

I had a lot of trouble sleeping last night. I can not say I'm ready to do the cancer thing again, frankly. I don't want to have surgery, either. All the way around, this sucks so far. :(

I'm pretty beat, at the moment. TB and I hiked into an old radar base in the canyon. It was 3.1 miles, damn near all of it uphill. Except for the beginning, which was downhill...which meant that coming back at the end of a 6.2 mile hike, it was again all up freaking hill. And a steep damn hill, at that. I freaking hate hills. AND I was on my period, so I was also cramping. Ah, Life. Thou art fun cubed.

Stupidly, it was my idea, coz I thought it might be nice to take some pictures, now that I have my Canon back. Unfortunately, the reset all my settings while they had it in for repair, so the images are all full of noise. I'm not real happy about that, but it's my own damn fault for not thinking to check my settings. I'd be okay with it except that a red-tailed hawk was flying around while we were hiking up, and I got an awesome image of it except for the resolution sucking ass. :( You can see its wing tip feathers all splayed out and a perfect shot of its face, and everything. If I'd had the resolution set properly, you'd actually be able to see its eyes. It's one of the best captures I've ever made, and I was a frigging idiot about my settings, so that picture alone makes me want to cry. I did check the ISO and the size of image I was shooting, the white balance, etc., but the one frigging thing I forgot to set was the one thing that really mattered. Damn it.

The radar site is kinda cool. They have it set up like it was, but at the same time, they're letting nature take it over again. It was operational from 1955 - 1968, and served as jamming radar as well as tracking in case the Nike missiles stationed nearby (I forget where, now, though) needed to be fired to bring down a Russian plane. Kinda freakish, actually. We'll probably go back again, so I'll try to take more (better) pictures, then. I took a break while I was writing this to mess with the camera settings and take more pictures, and I'm a little worried, because the camera doesn't seem to be functioning as it was. Every single ISO is chock full of noise. I'll try it tomorrow outside in the sun and see. I hope it's not screwed up. I can't see Canon fixing it, if it is. :( Can the storage disk affect that? I bought some cheap 1gb disks today, made by the company that made my card reader. Maybe it's them...

Anyway, I need a shower and then to try to sleep. I have to do sales and use taxes this weekend. :(

Peace out,
Katie


copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1