the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Tuesday, Feb. 19, 2008 - 3:23 a.m.

First, the good: I wrote a story over the weekend that they liked enough to send to the editing bay, and the editor started on it tonight! It's my first full story to script entirely on my own ever, and I'm totally psyched. I've scripted stuff here and there, but I never had the final say on it, so it's really awesome to have my own editor and a story *I* wrote, that's all me (so far, at least!), in editing. And my story editor was super supportive and cool on it and gave me all the help and advice I needed, and she rocks. If it weren't for her, I don't think it would have happened, because it was all her idea. I totally love her. She's awesome to work with and a good teacher/coach. :) I gave it to the Supervising Producer today, and he only had one serious critique, which I was able to fix really quickly (and which wouldn't have needed fixing if I'd stuck with my gut to begin with, so there's a lesson learned), and it went right to the editor, who also digs it and thinks it's fun. He even talked to me about it after he started cutting it, like I'm an actual story editor; I get to go in the bay, and my name and the story title are even up on the episode board. It's totally freaking awesome. :)

Truthfully, I'm relieved, too, because while I thought it was a good, funny story, good and funny are both subjective terms, and half of me thought the SP was going to hate it and wonder why he hired me, but he didn't, so it rules. :) And the icing on the cake is that it's a story no one else even thought was a story, so it was all me. :)

As far as the rest goes, the new job is pretty cool. I got my computer woes all straightened out, thanks to Jonny-C's killer advice and connections. I have my own desk, that is unoccupied during the day, so it mostly goes unmolested. I say mostly because there's a girl there who I may end up killing who views it as her personal dumping ground. Like, the day they all ordered lunch in, she decided my desk was good to use as "the lunch desk" where they sat all the food, and then she just never bothered to clean it off again, so when I came in, there was crap all over my desk, and she blithely informed me that since "no one" sits there, they just figured it was the perfect place to set up their buffet.

I almost killed her then, but I managed to be cool and hide my irritation. Perhaps I should not have done, because she got promoted today, along with another logger, to Assistant Story, and her first act as such was to take my copy of the field notes and make them her own. She made her own notes in them and highlighted whatever she felt like writing on and highlighting. So I come in and go to put the day's new pages, which are lying across my desk, into my binder, and it's missing. (Note she didn't see fit to put the new pages into it, despite having made it her own to use as she saw fit.) So I say, "Have you guys seen my binder," and she's all, oh, yeah, I took it. I'm like, can I have it back please, and she's all here, and hands it to me, all lit up like a Christmas tree. I'm like, what's this? and she's all, my notes, and then tells me that she just figured that now that she's an assistant story editor (as if), she figured she would take the field notes. I'm like, okay, 1) They're my field notes, and 2) Please don't make notes in my binder. Oh yeah, she tells me, she knows, but she doesn't have a binder for her pages, so she just figured she'd use mine. No, I tell her, ask a PA for a binder. Oh, I know, she breezes, and goes right back to what she was doing. It was all I could do not to drag her out of the suite by her hair and chuck her off of the second floor balcony. I'm not kidding. I fucking HATE her. I've worked with her before somewhere, but I can't place it. It was negative though, because the very first moment I laid eyes on her, I felt instant dislike. She's one of those people who doesn't know jack OR shit, but she acts like she knows everything and talks at you like she is the final authority on every matter that comes up. My easy-going nature is being sorely fucking tested, I can tell you that, right now.

Aside from that, the job is pretty great. The daytime ASE got fired for being unpleasant and getting nothing done and then blaming others for her faults. I like that I work for a company that doesn't support useless creatures and insists we all treat each other with respect. That almost never seems to happen, at least at the places I work, so it's really refreshing that it's happening now. And everyone seems to like me, so unless I sabotage myself (which is not beyond the realm of possibility, so please knock wood, cross your fingers, and say a prayer for me), I should continue to work for them on future shows, which would be awesome.

I'm using awesome a lot this post. I think it's time to crash.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1