the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Wednesday, Mar. 19, 2008 - 5:24 a.m.

Hi, peeps. Long time no write at. Let's see...

Men, please skip over this paragraph. Trust me. You want to. Still no girly body stuff going on. I am definitely in perimenopause, which sucks. I try not to think about it, because it really is just too depressing. Periodically, though - no pun intended - I get really irritated at the fact that while I have not had a period in 3.75 months, I *have* gone through over 2 boxes of tampons trying to make sure nothing untoward happened. Also, you might think not having a period is cool, but trust me, it so is not. You spend all your time waiting for something that is not never going to happen, but feels like it is never going to happen, if you catch my drift. That alone is enough to make you want to shred things.

Okay, men, welcome back.

The girl at work who is making me crazy will hopefully be fired tomorrow. It turns out she's annoying several other people as well. She's one of those give-her-a-little-"power"-and-she-goes-mad types and is such a lazy prat, she pawns all her work (stuff like, you know, getting off her ass and walking the 4' to the printer to fetch her own printouts) off on other people, and though it took a while, the other story members have finally noticed. And more importantly, they've finally realized how truly horrendously incompetent and crappy her transcriptions and logs are. Me personally, I just spent my last 2.5 days cleaning up her messes and re-transcribing crap she should have done to begin with. You don't know fun until you've spent 23 hours transcribing half a dozen people all talking at once over a radio communication system. It's so unbelievably time-consuming, I don't know where to start. My shift tonight was 11 hours, and the one before that was 12, both days without any breaks or lunches. I know those voices by heart now, though, boy. And I should, after transcribing 3 hour-long tapes of them. I'm now the go-to girl in the story department when you need your problems solved and your messes cleaned up. Which on the one hand is kinda nice, because I'm appreciated by my department members, but it also sucks, because every onerous activity in the world (like transcribing 3 hours of half a dozen people talking all at once) lands in my lap, and because it's all stuff that's currently writing and was just discovered to be lacking, it all has to be done Right Now. But the person who does the hiring and firing of the logging staff found out tonight how sucky Queen Bee's work is, and she is not happy about it and plans to do some firing tomorrow. This makes me quite happy, but half of me - nay, more than half - figures Queenie will find some way to talk herself out of trouble and won't be fired afterall. Which is a bummer, because at least 3 of us have our fingers crossed it's going down. If it does, I shall be singing tomorrow.

In even happier news, I got more stories accepted. :) The last story I wrote about got cancelled for lack of footage or excitement, and well it should have been. The next one I wrote though really came together and in fact was edited pretty much exactly as I papercut it, so what you will see will be pretty much what I scripted - how freaking cool is that?! I'm really proud of it. The 4th and last one I wrote will probably change, but I think I did a good job on it, too. I got a new story yesterday, but since I spent yesterday and today doing damage control, I haven't gotten to look at it at all. It might be interesting and fun, though. It's a total tech, geek piece. :)

Can I just say how much I love my job, btw? I do. :) Everyone except for the hose beast is cool and nice, I get to write, I get treated with respect, people actually seem to like me, the hours are decent (I still have to figure out how to fit the gym in, though), the company buys us dinner 2 days a week every single week, I work with tons of people who have actually been nominated for Emmy's and at least one who has Emmy's AND an Oscar, the owner of the company is a super cool, super nice person (and is the one with the major awards in his possession), I actually like the show I'm working on, and the craft service is the best I've ever seen in post. Sure, there are sodas and chips and chocolate. But there's also fresh fruit (bananas, apples, oranges) every single week, a huge variety of nuts and healthy trail mix, yogurt, carrots and celery sticks, oatmeal, cereal, cheesy mac, turkey jerkey (and beef jerky), all kinds of teas and gourmet coffee, milk, ice cream in the freezer, CLIF bars (which, okay, I hate, but *still*), granola bars, Emergen-C (5 different kinds) AND Airborne (2 flavors), 4 or 5 different sweeteners so that all the sweetener/sugar bases are covered, cheese and crackers, gourmet salt water taffy (which I love), Arizona teas, 4 different kinds of juice, 5 different kinds of bread, a variety of bagels, cream cheese, butter, and from time to time, baked goods, both homemade and from nice bakeries, not the crappy 3-day-old grocery store stuff. In fact, if you want something, you have only to write it on the grocery list, and the next week, someone goes and buys it. It's off da friggin' hook, yo. I'm in tv heaven. I love my job. I love my company. I hope ABC renews the show forever and ever and ever, and that I always get to work on it. And I love Jonny-C for referring me for it, because without him, I never would have even known about it. So thank you, J-Dawg. You rock! :)

And now, I really, really have to try to get some sleep. I slept 5 hours last night, and truthfully, I'm more than a little knackered.

xo,
kd

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1