the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Thursday, Feb. 23, 2006 - 7:46 p.m.

Thanks very much to those of you who thought to comment or email me regarding the latest chapter of my life. I really do appreciate it. I'm sorry I'm so angry, but damn. I've been trying to avoid Jack Doyle for the better part of the last 15 years, and especially the last 5, so it really just chaps my ass he felt compelled to make me aware I had had money once, just so he could squeeze the last of it out of me. It's one thing to know your parent has fucked you over. It's quite another to grok it on a subatomic level, which is basically what's happening now.

And seriously, living out a Greek tragedy tends to make you angry. I just realized today that actually, it's totally normal for me to be this fricking pissed off all the time. I think I'd be more worried if I wasn't. The problem is finding a way to manage the anger so that I can get past it and be a healthy, happy person, and frankly, I'm not sure that's possible, anymore. I mean, I thought I had, and look what's happening now. So um, yeah. I'm really stressed.

You know; if by stressed, you mean ready to take a sledgehammer to the next thing that moves.

But that would be bad, so let's all just be very, very still for a while.

Taking a cue - and a couple of memes - from Golfwidow (because she has all the coo' memes like dat, yo), I give you the windows Nohari and Johari. Because I am all fearless like that, myself. Actually, there's not a lot of really crap things anyone can truthfully mark down about me that I don't already know, so it's not so much a matter of bravery as perhaps gluttony of the punishment variety.

She also has a meme called "What Would Be on Your Embarrassing Mix Tape?" It utilizes songs you listened to when you were in high school, that you cried to during breakups, that you wisehd someone would sing to you, that you dubbed from your existing cassettes or taped off the radio or by holding the cassette recorder up to the tv speaker (hee!) while MTV was on. Quote, "The songs you liked so much you taped them twice, because Only Pussies Use the Rewind Button to Listen to the Song Again."

I started to do a post a week or so ago regarding songs that rock but don't actually rock, but then I got interrupted and didn't finish, so I'm doing this one instead, because going back to a happier, junior/senior year of high school and the first two years of college will make me feel better. Those were good times.

So here's what would be on my embarrassing mix tape...and I add that some of them are already on mix tapes I own, so taking yet another page from GW, I say, SHUT UP. :)

1. We Belong, by Pat Benetar. Go ahead, laugh. I do not care. I love that damn song.

2. All I Need, by Jack Wagner. Shut up. It was the 80's, man. I can not be held responsible.

3 & 4. (but not actually one right after the other) Jesse's Girl and Love Is Alright Tonight, by Rick Springfield. Dr. Noah Drake. I don't care what you think.

5. Blue Bayou, Crystal Gayle. Oh, shut UP.

6. Rainy Days & Mondays, the Carpenters. If you mock this, you have no soul and I do not want to know you. Ever.

7. Top of the World, the Carpenters. Again, not right after the other, and this you may mock. Even I recognize its kitsch value. I don't care. Once, when this song was new, I listened to it over and over again until the adults in the next room took it away from me. I was like in 3rd grade or something, so I don't care. Obviously, my staying power was a lot greater than theirs.

8. Playin' With the Queen of Hearts, Juice Newton. Oh, shut up. It's not like it's Angel of the Morning.

9. I Don't Know Much, Linda Rondstadt and Aaron Neville. Talk to the hand.

10. Change, John Waite. Love, love, love this song. John was cute. It struck a nerve. I don't care what you think.

11. Missing You, also by John Waite. Look, let's face it. John was a hottie. I dig John. I won't take it back. And I pined for Brent Anderson like I can't tell you to the strains of that song AND songs 1 and 2 on this list, so they will always have a special place. Brent, otoh... ;)

12. The Flame, Cheap Trick. Oh shut UP. You liked it too. I also really love She's Tight, so it evens out. Of course, then I slip back into Top 40 inanity with I Want You to Want Me and Surrender, but hell; nobody's perfect.

13. Eternal Flame, the Bangles...fine, shut up. I swear I'll punch you.

14. Space Age Love Song, the Flock of Seagulls. Perhaps also Telecommunication. What? You don't know those songs? Amateur.

15. I Think I Love You, the Partridge Family. Did I mention the punching? I feel pretty sure I mentioned the punching.

16. Where Everybody Knows Your Name, Gary Portnoy. I am not kidding about the punching.

17. The theme song to thirtysomething, by Steward Levin and WG "Snuffy" Walden, the latter having also written the theme and music for The West Wing. I loved the thirtysomething theme so much I actually have it on a mix tape somewhere, and yes, I taped it back in the day by holding my cassette recorder up to the tv speaker. I'm not sure you realize I fully mean it about the punching. Also, if you have an mp3 of the original, extended version of this song, I will be your best friend for life. I really will.

18. Video Killed the Radio Star, the Buggles. And I'd blast it. At least 3 times.

19. Ice Ice Baby. Precisely because it's so bad.

20. Can't Fight This Feeling, REO Speedwagon. Bite me.

21. Lost In Your Eyes, Debbie Gibson. I know. Even I hang my head in shame over this one. The nasality. The audible breath and catch in her voice at the beginning of lines. The banality. The mall. What can I say? I am hopelessly uncool.

22. Total Eclipse of the Heart, Bonnie Tyler. You know, it's not like I mentioned Music Box Dancer, so bite me.

23. The Longest Time, Billy Joel.

24. Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go, Wham! I--I mean--It's--oh, just...shut up.

25. 99 Luftballons, Nena, the German version. And I'd crank it. Hard.

There are more, but in the interest of time and space, we'll stop there. And that is certainly more uncoolness than you needed to know. But it was fun. So thanks, Golfwidow. And I tag Em with it, now. The rest of you can follow suit if you like, but please let me know you do. :)

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1