the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Friday, May. 02, 2008 - 7:29 p.m.

Ciao, bellas. And...bellos.

Long time no write to. Actually, that's not, strictly speaking, so. I have written at least twice, and both times, Diaryland ate my entries. They were both fairly long, too, so it kinda sucked. Curse you, Diaryland, curse you!

Work has gotten less enjoyable, mostly for purely political, crappy reasons. I still love the company, not just so much the angst that always follows when insecure people feel their power or position threatened merely by virtue of someone else doing their job. Let's just say I got bitchslapped downward and leave it at that. All I'm going to say is that in the space of 5 minutes, I went from a job I loved to one I merely tolerate and am kind of counting the days until it's over. I still want to come back for a second season if we get renewed, but I'm really hoping that will come with changes in story. I love everyone else, but frankly, Machiavellian insecurities make me want to slap people, and it's really hard to function to the best of my abilities when I have to constantly fucking monitor every single day to make sure none of the fricking story editors feel I am threatening.

Wouldn't it be nice if the world were actually a place where you could flourish simply by doing your best? I really hate people, sometimes.

Ah, who am I kidding? I hate them most of the time.

On a lighter note, I got a puppy since last we chatted. :) He's a pound puppy who is now 3.5 months old, and he totally rules. I completely adore him, though I have managed to step on his paws damn near every day for the last month, he ate glass when I wasn't looking (3 weeks ago), and last Friday, he fell out of the car at 20mph while I was driving him to the park. If he survives puppyhood to adult dogdom, it will probably be a miracle. :( Apparently, I am way too cluelessly inept to be a good mom, though I honestly don't think I did this poorly at it when I had Mr. Puppy. I'm pretty sure Mr. Puppy's paws went unscathed, and I know for a fact he never tumbled out of a car window on my watch. He may have eaten glass - I can not definitively rule it out - but if he did, I was blissfully unaware of the fact, and it did him no harm, since he lived to a ripe old age. Of course, I *did* drop him once, and he ripped his ears open scootching under a chainlink fence when we moved into a new house in LA when he was 4, but most of his injuries he managed to do to himself, not at my hands*. Poor Mr. Noggin can not say the same...his injuries have so far been due to my own lack of attentiveness or care, though in my defense, one can not constantly monitor the whereabouts and whims of one's puppy, so that time he leapt spreadeagled through the air at the cat when I stood up to put on my jacket while he was asleep on the sofa, but he woke up just as the cat walked through the room and launched himself through the air to splat on the hardwood floor was not entirely my fault. I mean, I was standing for 30 seconds, tops, and he was sound asleep until the cat walked through, so I'm pretty sure I can be forgiven for that one. But I still cried when he hurt his leg. And I cried again when he hurt the other (back) leg falling out of the car, because really, that one *was* all my fault. I'm just really thankful he only bruised himself. And now I make sure that rear window is up far enough that he can not possibly jump or fall from it.

* except, now that i think about it, an unfortunate incident involving foxtails, but i honestly didn't know they could work their way into a dog's body, and as soon as i realized he was hurt, i took him to the vet, and i castigated myself strenuously for it, and now i make sure to examine mr. noggin every single time he goes outside, to make sure he doesn't have any of those evil little b*****ds stuck to him anywhere.

But getting back to Mr. Noggin, he's an awesome german shepherd mix with waaaaay too much energy, and a penchant for devouring everything that lands in his path. I'm not kidding. Rocks, glass, coins, pinecones, pine needles, foxtails, ripgut, paper, fluff, dust bunnies, the coffee table, a hammer... You name it, if it isn't nailed down, he will eat it, and if it *is* nailed down, he'll try to. It's called Pica, and it's usually a behavior problem in older dogs, and something that puppies usually outgrow, which I really hope he does. Besides the aforementioned glass, I find rocks and pinecone pieces in his poo all the time. I have to keep a constant eye on him whenever we go outside, because he's really stealthy about it. Sniff, sniff, sniff, sniff, sniff, sniff, sweet! food! sniff, sniff, sniff, sniff... He even chews on the slab. It's exhausting and more than a little stressful. Especially with all the foxtails and ripgut we have on the property, both of which can be lethal to a dog, especially a little puppy. He was also sick a lot until about last week, so I'm hoping he's over all that and stays well now. I love him to pieces. He rules. :) He's also going to be gi-gan-ti-clee huge, if his paws are any indication. Holy crap. They're mitts. Big, beefy mitts. Inevitably, that is the very first observation every single person who sees him has about him. Not, "Ohmigod, he's so cute!" but, "Ohmigod, his paws are HUGE." I was not looking for a dog this big, so I'm a little freaked out about it, frankly. I'm not kidding. They're enormous. But he's also smart as all get out (once a thing actually makes it into short-term memory and hence, the permanent files), so hopefully he'll train well? I was going to write a puppy blog, because watching him make discoveries is absolutely adorable and more fun than I can say, but he requires such constant vigilance that to get any time to myself, I have to cage him, and I don't like to do that. Also, I was exhausted until right around this week, because he slept in 2-hour increments, and every time he woke me up to go outside, it would take at least half an hour to get back to sleep, and that meant I'd get an hour, maybe 1.5 hours before he woke me up again, so I've been pretty much a zombie for weeks, now. He's pretty much the most high-maintenance dog I've ever had. I really hope he grows out of it. But he's worth it, coz even *I* can see how much more relaxed and happy I look since I got him. Put simply, he's awesome, and I love him a really whole lot, and it's nice to have a dog again, and he loves me and makes me really happy. Other things might be going not so well, but my puppy is always happy to see me when I get home, and that is worth all the money in the world.

And now I have a headache, so if you'll excuse me, I'm going to go lie down. I hope everyone's doing well. The schedule has been such that I haven't had time to do much of anything but play the odd game of Scrabulous or send a piece of Flair on Facebook when I'm logging b-roll, so I don't know what anyone is up to or how they're doing, but that doesn't mean I don't care, it just means I'm really tired all the time and working a lot of hours and then constantly monitoring a young puppy who manages to get into *everything* if he is not kept amused. I haven't even seen much more than a few hours of television a week, which I manage to watch in the hour between when the puppy crashes and when I absolutely have to follow suit if I hope to get anything approaching 6 hours of sleep for the night. So a big shoutout to alla you guys who I know read here and that I also read, and please know that I think about you and hope you're happy and doing well, even if I haven't been demonstrating it, because I think you're all awesome peeps that I wish I could hang out with in real life, and there have been times when you were my lifeline, so I wish you all wonderful things and much happiness. And I miss hearing from you and knowing what's going on with you. So be well. And feel free to drop a line any time. OH! L'Empress, I need to email you and tell you thank you for the holiday card, which I just got last week, thanks to a problem with my PO box. And I'm sorry I didn't send any out this year, because that was a really wonderful surprise and a great boost to my day, and you made me realize that holiday cards are truly nice things and that I should start sending them out again. So I hope you're having a wonderful day, as well.

xo,
kd

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1