the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Wednesday, Sept. 13, 2006 - 7:04 p.m.

Parc Monceau pictures from yesterday.

Rose red ruins

There are roses all over the park. Like, you never saw so many outside of an actual rose garden. I realize there are boatloads more at the Huntington, but they're in the rose garden, so they don't count. If you live in the Los Angeles area and have not yet visited the Huntington Library (and botanical gardens), get thee hence, and quickly. Both the gardens and the house are worth an entire day.

And on a side note, Thomas Lawrence's Pinkie lives there, along with Thomas Gainsborough's Blue Boy. This is significant because Pinkie was the first work of art I ever knew intimately, and I knew it because when my mom was in high school back in the day, she had to do a paint by numbers of it in her art class, so there was a 24x36" copy of it hanging in our living room from my earliest memory until our house was destroyed by a tornado (with us in it) the latter half of 5th grade. I thought it was an original work of art painted by my mom until like 3rd or 4th grade. It breaks my heart that painting was destroyed in the tornado. I know my mom was proud of it, and rightfully so. It was awesome. She really did a kickass job. Also, weirdly enough, I discovered Thomas Lawrence entirely independently the year my brother got married (which was 1993, I think; mighta been '92 or '94), and he's one of my favorite artists. Imagine my surprise to find out he'd painted the original Pinkie. (which is a horrible spelling of Pinky, btw.) But I digress. Parc Monceau.

More ruins & roses

You know, did I mention the ruins? And the roses?

Greek

I'm not sure I made it clear there were ruins.

Also, I don't know if I've said so or not, but I fucking hate Flickr's bullshit link policy. I really don't want to make these photos links, since they're private images. Y tu mama, Flickr. Let's look at the peaceful green, instead of thinking about Flickr's fascism, shall we?

Bridge & bank

It occurs to me I shouldn't use the term "fascism" frivolously. BushCo does that more than enough for--well, for the whole world, actually.

I think we should have one more picture with a rose and faux ruins in it, don't you?

Rose & ruins, anyone?

I have a pink rose, if anyone wants to see it.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1