the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Tuesday, Apr. 20, 2004 - 1:33 a.m.

Not a lot to say...have to look for a new job, because the rocket science that is reality tv is winding down until June. I hate job hunting, not only because I hate looking for and interviewing for new jobs, but also because I have hated every non-acting job I've ever had (bar absolutely none), and actively looking for a new miserable position to plunk myself smackdab in the middle of is just so not the fun and positive experience it's cracked up to be. Not to mention doing work I hate in a new environment, punching a new timeclock so not accommodating to my desires or pre-existing schedule, which thanks to the wonderful Jonny C, the one I currently have is. On top of that, the first few months I am in any new work environment, everyone there hates me. I do not tolerate stupidity well, and no one ever gets my sense of humor. They always think I am either weird, geeky, obnoxious, or a combination thereof. Until I've been there 2 or 3 months, at which point they figure out I'm really not a bitch and decide to start being nice to me and joking around and stuff. In addition to all of that, I spent many many a long year waiting tables, which has it's own uniform, or working in post-production, which warrants jeans and a casual shirt, and I've gained 20 lbs. since I went into post, so none of my nice interview, officey clothes (at least, those I have left) fit anymore. Basically, I hate office jobs and having to look for a new one just fills me with all sorts of happy dread and trepidation. Yay, me.

Okay, so, movie reviews.

What's that, you say, what a non-sequitur? Oh well.

Pieces of April This movie is so NOT a comedy. Regardless of the fact it claims to be and is tucked away in the comedy section, if it is no longer on the new release wall, do not be lulled into complacent trust and rent this expecting to be amused. You so will not be. And judging from the level of dysfunction in your own family, you may find it exceedingly difficult to watch. If The Boyfriend were not more patient than I, we would never have made it past the first 6.5 minutes. I found it irksome and tiresome. TB wanted to watch the featurette at the end, for some unknown reason, and we only made it about 3 minutes into that. Whenever a director uses the word "organic" to describe the movie he's just made (which he shot on cheapass lowbudget stock), you know you are dealing with a pretentious fop. The only freaking time anyone in Hollywood uses "organic" to describe a picture is when a) they are pretentious, and b) they had no money whatsoever to spend on it. Usually both. Just a little tip from your Aunt Katie.

Kill Bill Quentin Tarantino is a tiny little girly man who is terrified of women. The only serious fight scene in the whole movie is near the beginning, between Uma Thurman and Viveca Fox. And even that has some schlock in it, but it's still a kickass fight scene. After that, it just gets ridiculous and overly cartoony, with literal fountains of blood streaming from people's bodies every time a head or limb gets lobbed off. I have noticed that all Quentin's female characters are either psychobitches, wetdreams, or cartoons. He's a frigging hack and a bad actor. Aside from the ridiculousness of Kill Bill, Uma Thurman carries her part off, so I kinda liked it. At least enough to want to see Vol. 2, but not enough to ever probably sit thru it again, unless it's free and on cable.

Duplex Did I already talk about this? I think I did. It's okay. Nothing really to write about. It carries most gags too far and the characters do things that you sit there and go okay, there's no reason for this to be happening, so wtf? It's kinda cute, but I don't really recommend it, unless it's on cable and you're pretty damn bored.

L'auberge Espagnole Pretty interesting. Mildly amusing most of the time. If you feel like reading a movie, you could do worse, and this one actually is a comedy, although it's funny in the french-spanish way of funny, not the slap your knees American way, which basically means that it's enjoyable and amusing, but most of the time you won't be dying laughing. It helps if you have a dry sense of humor. If you liked Amelie, you'll probably like it, though I in no way wish to make you think they are anything alike. At all.

School of Rock I love Jack Black because he's this gigantic impish 12 year old who always seems to be having a great time, and this movie was written specifically for him. It's perfect for him and he's perfect for it, and I laughed pretty hard a good deal of the time, though I guess if you hate JB, this is not the movie for you. It's pretty neat too, that all the kids actually played and sang themselves, and they're really good. I wish the dvd had had bloopers and outtakes, because I bet there were a lot, and I bet they were damn funny, but it does have a lot of special features (make sure to watch him beg Led Zepplin), and it was a very enjoyable movie. I'd watch it again, no problem. I'm sure I will, anytime I'm channel surfing on a Sunday and there it is. Because damn it, it's just that much fun. Seriously, how can you not love Jack Black? He's totally in on the joke, and it's just too much fun watching him go along with it. The guy is fearless in a way that you just KNOW he's having a great time living his life. I wish I were that fearless, because it is a thing of liberating beauty. ::sigh:: Rock on, Jack.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1