the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Monday, Jan. 29, 2007 - 1:43 p.m.

I like the way That Girl handled her job meme thingie, so I'm ripping her off. Here, roughly in order, are all the jobs I've had thus far. (with some clumped together to save time)

1. Milkmaid - Yes, milkmaid. And feeder of calves, mender of fences (literally), feeder of cows, cow herder, bovine ob-gyn, calf doctor, driver, and attempted mechanic. I learned how to drive a stick for this job, when I was in 5th grade. I could barely reach the pedals and still see over the wheel. I had this job until junior year of high school.

1b. Babysitter - did that through college. The worst kid was the one who chased me through town with a tree frog he wanted to throw on me. I can't tell you how hideous a thought that was, and I had no idea how to get it away from him, so we played keep away until he got bored and let it go. I think that was 8th grade year.

2. Concessionist at a food court in the mall - For 3 days. This is my shortest-held job, and it sucked. I got all the scut work because I was the new kid. My closing duties included mopping the floors, cleaning the toilets, cleaning the grill, cleaning the swirly Orange Julius machine, and other truly onerous tasks while the other girls counted down the till, wiped the counter, and split the tips, none of which I got. I decided that was bullshit and quit. Beginning of junior year.

3. Concessionist/box office sales at a movie theatre - I had this job for 2 years, until I got robbed at gunpoint and the movie chain - General Cinema - fired me because the robber got away with $102...two dollars more than I was supposedly allowed to have in the till. I'd never been told there was a cash limit and was in fact roughly in compliance with the amount of money I had been told to keep in my drawer, which itself totalled $125. (5 tens and at least 75 in ones) I had just finished selling out all 3 movies and dropping my spare cash when the jerk walked up. He was pullling panty hose over his head, which just immediately moved me into the realm of "this can't be happening." My actual thought was "Oh, come ON." I mean, seriously. NOBODY does that. Right? Unfortunately, some people do. The thing that really pissed me off about the whole thing is that I told the cops who came to the scene that he'd been holding a Budweiser beer can, and they claimed they couldn't find one. I walked out 2 hours later after being interrogated, and there it was, lying right against the curb, right where I told them it was. Idiots. I had this job senior year of high school and freshman year of college. It was an awesome job until the original GM was transferred and we ended up with Robert Winkleman, a short guy who suffered from Short Man Syndrome, Balding Man Syndrome, and most probably, Tiny Penis Syndrome. We all hated him passionately.

4. Cashier at a hardware store. I can't remember why I quit the job. It was both fun and hideous.

5. Sandwich maker at the sub shop next to that movie theatre - This was actually a fun summer job and I loved it. Unfortunately, I had to quit it when school started back up again.

6. Transcriber - I got hired to transcribe the journals of this spoiled rotten jerk whose father sent him to travel the globe. He got to spend an entire year doing nothing but going wherever he wanted and blowing daddy's money. His journal consisted of nothing more than bitching about how every place he went wasn't America, and no one spoke English. I hated him more than I can ever say and spent every minute of every day thinking what a fucking waste of time, money, and air he was. I had the job for 2 months, at which point in time, I was so fed up with the ass that I told his dad school was too demanding and I'd have to quit.

7. Office assistant to a school photographer - I put together the photo packages kids ordered. It was seasonal and lasted a few months.

8. Sales associate in an S&H Greenstamps store. I did this 2 or 3 summers in a row. It was kinda fun, because it was just me and my boss, and she loved me.

9. Nanny - don't ask.

10. Sound tech for a production of Hoosiers.

11. I worked for Photon as a counter girl and then back in the back as a staging room employee. One of the most ridiculous, fun jobs I've ever had.

12. Props runner for a production of Steel Magnolias - the highest paying, best backstage job I've ever had. I got paid Equity wages, and the backstage crew was really cool. We used to watch Doogie Houser every week, which is how we found out about the earthquake in Candlestick Park in 1987 or whenever that was; Doogie had been pre-empted for the World Series. I still remember Barbara walking around every week going "Doogie is my hero," in a nasally voice. If you knew Barbara, you'd remember it too. This is also the show I worked with Sonni Speer, Albert Speer's granddaughter.

13. Receptionist and secretary for a real estate firm. Sucked and is one of like 3 jobs I got fired from. I don't remember what the other 2 were; this one was the first. I got fired for having a sucky attitude and being late all the time, and I have to admit I did and I was.

13b. Singing telegram deliverer - This job was nowhere near as much fun as you'd think. I'd sit on call until they needed me, and I only got paid per telegram. It was also horrible. I got sent to do things like deliver telegrams wearing a giant chicken suit to guys who were pissed at their girlfriends for sending them giant chicken singing telegrams to their office in the middle of a workday apologizing for a fight they'd had the day before. And you had to learn the song in the car on the way over if it was a specialty song. It was horrendous. I just never went in again after 2 weeks. I probably got fired from that one, too.

14. Singing waitress/"wench" in a medieval dinner theatre. I made a boatload of money doing this show for 2 years. I also got over some of my fear of singing, and this job is the one we have to thank for my perennial karaoke favorite, "Johnny B. Goode."

15. Receptionist for an executive suites building - dream job. I got paid $10 an hour in a time and place when that was actually a lot of money, I was guaranteed 2 hours of pay even if I only worked 1 each day, and I got to read books and play video games.

16. Various waiter jobs, most of them in big chain restaurants, the worst of which was Ruby's and the best of which was Macaroni Grill, at which I was a singing waiter. People of interest I have waited on include (but are not limited to): Bill Bates (hulking, with great blue eyes and very cute in person), Kathleen Quinlan, Anne Lockhart, June Lockhart, Billy Crystal, and Steve Landesburg (very cool guy). I also delivered food to Will Smith and had the door opened for me by Jack Scalia, who dove for the door to beat me to it so he could hold it open for me (I had my hands full of dishes) and has beautiful blue eyes and can make you actually go weak in the knees with a smile.

17. Various acting jobs, including a 2 year stint as Nicole Larsonette in "Rio Can Be Murder," a murder mystery whodunnit dinner theatre production that still holds the distinction for being the longest running play in San Diego history. My favorite though, will always be Peppermint Patty in Snoopy. I also liked playing Mary Shelley in the only total drama on my resume, "Wandering Voice."

18. Writer for a real estate magazine, making planned communities sound like Xanadu.

19. Various jobs in reality television, all of them in story, ranging from logger to story editor and staff supervisor.

20. Freelance web and graphics designer.
21. Jewelry maker.
22. Singer with a jazz trio, which was unpaid but really fun.
Hopefully one day photographer. :)

I think that's all of them. I supported myself acting for 8 years, which I didn't spell out here, but 4 of those years were taken up with dinner theatre, be it murder mysteries or musicals. Dinner theatre's been very good to me, so whether or not some crowds are hideous, I really enjoy it and would do it again in a heartbeat. Sitting behind a desk has by far been the worst of my jobs and the ones I'd love to leave behind forever. If I could make a living at photography, I think that would make me almost as happy as if I'd grown up to be the constantly working actor I always dreamed I would be. I wish I'd realized how fleeting youth is while I was still fully immersed in that most wondrous part of life. Alas, I was too busy trying to keep my head above water, a condition I find myself more and more familiar with. I've lost several jobs I would have killed to land because the interviewer asked me what my degree was in and I didn't lie. Go to college, kids. Finish your degree, any degree. Because while it does not guarantee you a job, it certainly can make landing one much easier.

And that's all I have today.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1