the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Friday, Sept. 01, 2006 - 2:51 p.m.

I am happy to say the Louvre pyramid pictures do not suck. Here are a few for your viewing pleasure. Or whatever.

Pyramid at Sunset

Seen here at sunset (and that phrasing makes even my eyes roll), IM Pei's glass pyramid was commissioned by Fran�ois Mitterrand and completed in 1989, for the bicentennial of the French Revolution, possibly because a pyramid in the baroque style had been originally proposed there for the centennial celebration. According to the Louvre's literature, the pyramid contains 673 panes of glass; however, Pei's office holds it's comprised of 698. Either way, the number of 666 is an urban myth recently exacerbated by Dan Brown's liberal representation of fiction as fact in his pulp novel, The DaVinci Code. The pyramid is about 70' tall, with each of its 4 sides measuring approximately 115 feet.

I shot the above image from behind the pyramid, facing roughly west. The center hall of the Louvre (which makes a U-shape) was behind me.

Rhapsody in Blue

I shot this from the other side, pretty much aiming back the way I'd been, from the southwest. You can see the Louvre behind it and a couple that was sitting there in the center. For some reason, all the people were on the other side, to the north. I'm glad they were, because I got some really great pictures out of it. The pyramid is surrounded by reflecting pools, which themselves are in the shape of triangles. I also got some good, tighter shots of the couple. I guess it was pretty voyeuristic of me, but I couldn't have asked for better models if I'd tried. And they were so happy there together, I didn't want to say, hey, do you guys mind if I take pictures of you from way the hell back there? I didn't know the images were going to turn out so well, either, and I snapped quite a few.

Here's my imitation of Sebastien paying off:

Kiss

I'm a bad, intrusive papparazzi voyeur. Um, oops?

MP came over tonight after work and called Noos about the cable. Apparently, the decoder box works, it's Noos that's smucked up. I might have cable sometime after September 10.

Hopefully it won't rain tomorrow like the weather lady said it will, and I can get good stuff shot at Montmarte. I really need to say till November, now that I know what the hell I'm doing. And I have GOT to find an internet cafe with a cd burner, so I can burn images to CD before leaving for home. I really don't think it's a good idea to leave all my images on the external hard drive, in case something happens. I have learned many times the importance of backing up one's files. If I allow myself to think about it, I get geeked out that as it is, I have 7 or 8 weeks worth of images sitting without backup right now. Ce n'est pas une bonne idee.

This has been such a great experience. Especially after a day like yesterday, when I come home grungy and tired, with 1.5 gigabytes worth of images and 2 dead batteries, even though I dropped my camera and damn near fragged it, I can't tell you how happy I am. I don't write about that enough, I know. It just seems so strangely private that I feel pretty bare talking about it. I so rarely feel peaceful and deeply happy, that I don't like to risk jinxing it, and I've had a lot of experience with people who can't stand to see you happy and will take the first chance they get to destroy it. Hence, I tend to keep the things that make me intensely happy to myself. Which I suppose makes me seem a very disgruntled, unhappy person. And in a lot of ways, I am a very sad (and yes, pretty disgruntled) person, so happiness is something I experience on an intensely deep and private level I just generally don't talk about often or to many people. But I will cop to being so happy here that sometimes just walking up the street, I am stricken with the loss at having to leave one day. I am incredibly lucky to have had this opportunity and grateful to God for providing the experience and making it possible. I hope I will be able to repeat it every few years, it has been so totally and completely great. I love Paris with all my heart. It is an amazing and beautiful city, and even though its streets are atrociously laid out, it's sidewalks are mined with waste, the pigeons are godfreakingawful, disgusting, and everywhere, and the people here are in general not at all what I would term a friendly or helpful people, those are minor inconveniences compared the sheer glory of what just has to be the most beautiful city in the entire world. It truly makes me cry, it's so beautiful. Leaving it will kill me. And taking pictures of it is the best "job" in the entire world.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1