the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Sunday, Jun. 17, 2007 - 6:23 p.m.

Okay, so despite my swearing off of ABC after the Alias debacle, I have taken to watching Traveler, a summer series about 3 college roommates who take off to relive Jack Kerouac's life On the Road for the summer, only to get sidelined when their last hurrah goes horribly awry with a museum bombing one of them was involved in and the other 2 were framed for. In my defense, I didn't know it was on ABC when I set the dvr to tape it each week, because I wasn't paying attention to that, and the reason I was taping it wasn't for me, it was for TB, as he is on friendly terms with the director of said endeavor and encouraged me to check it out after going to the screening. So I taped the pilot, and because I am a sloppy dvr setter, I set it to tape all episodes, and the second one wasn't for 3 whole freaking weeks after the first one ran, so since I'd jumped past all the commercials, I really wasn't aware until the second episode that I was watching ABC, and frankly, by then, I was hooked.

And hooked I remain.

Will Tyler and Jay find Will and clear their names before they get murdered or blown up by one of the legions of bad guys (some of whom are employed by Dept. of Homeland Security, which apparently knows all about what really went down during the bombing and seem to totally be in on it)? Who is the strange man who freed Jay & Tyler from the black van, but then watched them nearly get blown up before tranquing Will from afar as he was running away from the bad guys? And who ARE the bad guys? Are there multiple sets of bad guys? WHAT THE HELL IS GOING ON???!

Like seriously, I can not get enough of Traveler. I'm just goofy addicted to it, and I swear to you, if ABC messes with it like they did the last season of Alias, I may have to find someone responsible and kick the crap out of him.

I found a ridiculously useless site today (thanks to TVWoP) called Useless Trivia, and believe me, it really is. But it's a good way to kill some time at work, if you are inclined to engage in that sort of thing.

I got nothin' else, really. MP sent some fun souvenirs from her trip to Japan, which arrived yesterday. :) We got a handpainted: fridge magnet, bookmark, and picture of a bird and blossom. And I got a little cloth Doraemon keychain which will no doubt make it into my Plastic 52 photoset on Flickr. :) But not until I finish my pirate-themed mini-series. :) I've been remiss in my 365 self-portraits lately. The batteries for the camera were lost, and I just didn't feel like dealing with it. I've been goofing around here and there with Photoshop, instead, and came up with this sort of 3D, View-Master viewing reel sort of thing instead.

Les Hommes in 3D

It's kind of a hard thing to get down. I find it definitely works easier when the image already has a lot of depth (not depth of field, but a deep background, if you take my meaning) and strong lines. It's much harder to do when trees and bushes are involved. Believe me, I tried. You really need contrast, to make it easier.

Yesterday at work was fraught with peril and disaster. I really, really, REALLY hate working the cash register. I can't tell you how much. And the guy shift lead is a pretentious ass of the first order, who, it turns out, "[has] a script."

Of course he does. *Every* asshole in Hollywood "[has] a script." But how do I know he has a script? Because we were stuck next to each other all night, and when a customer told him he worked in Hollywood, coworker immediately launched into a story about his great script...as everyone in Hollywood does the very second he hears someone works in "the business." It's one of the reasons I hate this town. Every putz has some "project" he's working on, and the very second he thinks you can be used to further his goals, he starts blowing smoke up your butt about this great project he's got that just needs someone to read/produce/hire it/him, and it will be a huge hit. For 15 minutes while we were packed and had a line 10 deep, I got to listen to him blather on about his script. Like those nobody "actors" who sit in Starbucks every afternoon and pontificate in a very loud voice about method while they namedrop to the nth degree. Here's a secret for you guys: Real working actors of substance do not sit in Starbucks or whatever the diner-du-jour is at that moment and blabber on about method and who they're working with or studying with or what they just got hired to do. That's what extras do. That's what some idiot who just got hired to do 3 lines in the latest Fantastic 4 movie does. NOT real professional actors who actually know their craft and have their act together. And real writers don't do it, either. So your next trip to Hollywood during your summer/winter vacation, don't be impressed by the idiot next to you who is going on and on to the person with whom he's having coffee or pasta about his agent and the last producer/director he worked with or project he's about to begin working on. If he were anybody at all, he'd keep his voice down, and the conversation would sound a lot more like the work-oriented ones *you* have with people. If he WERE one of the people who are actually somebody in this town but are still so insecure they need to be sucked up to constantly (read: producers), he would be eating someplace you can't afford to go, where the portions are tiny, the food outrageously expensive, and the chairs filled with people who make more money in a month than you do all year. THEN the game would be to show all the other "power players" in the room that he has more power and clout than they do. Which is the same game being played in Starbucks or Swingers, except that in those venues, the attention-whoring is more of a "I lead a glamorous life and you don't" sort of thing, rather than a "I could break your balls and then mount them on my mantle without even trying" sort of thing. You see the difference, I'm sure. Both groups of people are pathetically insecure, but one group actually has money and power. The other just desperately wants to.

Okay. Gotta go. Hope you had a good weekend. :)

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1