the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Wednesday, Aug. 20, 2003 - 1:15 a.m.

Hold the presses, fellow babies, I have had an epiphany. An epiphany so earth shattering that for 3 whole seconds I did not know how to react. Of course, at the end of that 3 seconds, I pretty much just shrugged and went on with what I was doing, but for those 3 seconds...

And what was that epiphany, Katie, I hear you ask.

Well, it's this: I am a grown-up.

I am, too; shut up.

I don't feel like a grown-up. I have never felt like a grown-up. In fact, right this very minute, even as I write this ridiculous entry, I could not feel less like a grown-up. But I was making pizza - which, granted, is not the most grown-up of foods, but I was making it unsupervised, so there's your proof right there - and I went to the oven to check on it when the timer went off, and as I reached up to turn on the light over the stove, for some bizarre reason, I had the thought/realization/grokness/EPIPHANY "I am a grown-up."

It was weird, people. What I actually thought was "I am my mother," but mother in the grown-up sense, not the literal sense, which would be about the most horrifying thought I could have and one that would have sent me screaming from the house, straight to the nearest high cliff and right off into empty air from there, but no, it actually translated to "grown-up" in the realm of realization, so I was saved a horrible lemming death and was able to determine instead that the pizza was in need of 2-3 more minutes of baking.

I am nothing if not cool in the face of adversity.

I realize that to some of you, this realization will have no merit, no meaning, you will not be able to grok the fullness of the discovery, because you yourself have not yet had this moment in time where for one brief nanosecond the kid in you suspends reality and is suddenly aware of the fact that you live on your own, drive your own car, are responsible for feeding yourself and are struggling with all the things that do, indeed, constitute actual adultness. That you are no longer 18 or 20 or even 25, and that yes, you are a grup, whether you feel it or not, whether you like it or not. Or perhaps you had the discovery so long ago you forgot what it was like, or you've never had it, because your adulthood was something you accepted or even wanted, and it snuck up on you, gradually latching onto the cloak of your being until it became part of you without your even noticing or even caring. Which I suppose could be a good thing, but frankly, I'm really glad I don't have that sense of adultness and still feel like a girl and not a woman, praise be to Genevieve.

So that sudden consciousness was a bit of a shock for a second there. And I was speechless a few more.

And then I shrugged and checked the pizza. Ain't life swell? :)

Peace out,
Katie

ps. more Paris tomorrow

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.

He's our grown-up friend...not in a creepy way.




*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1