the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Friday, Aug. 24, 2007 - 3:27 a.m.

Saw the hematologist today. My blod clots perfectly, too. Oo, ah.

Got my paycheck at close, tonight...$46. Seems they shorted me an entire shift. Guess I won't be paying any bills this week...

Big shout outs to yous guys taking care of me, and I think you know who you are. You freaking rule. I'm not callin' you out by name, coz I don't know how you feel about that, but one of you sent me postage for books, and you are just completely freaking awesome.

I had links, but it's really late.

Music, though. I came into a cd by Jeremy Fisher this week, and if you dig Simon & Garfunkle, his Goodbye Blue Monday cd is great. I love it, especially track 1. Goofy lyrics, but damn, is it catchy. I love me the old S&G stuff, so someone who's actually doing music like that these days is right up my alley. :) You can also check him out on YouTube. (That link will take you to the video for track 1.) Warning, though: some of his songs require less than a single listen all the way through, and you will hum the hell out of them the rest of the day. They're infectious.

I had something else, but I forgot.

Need a new job. I literally can not live on what I'm making, and my stress level escalates a little more every day. As soon as I find out whether or not I have cervical cancer - and assuming the answer to that is no - I have to bail. My blow drier died today, and it was a hard fucking fact to face that I can't afford to buy a new one. I haven't been this broke since fricking college, when I was unemployed. One of the guys at work tonight told me he's been working for the company for 12 years. Know what his pay rate is?

10 dollars and 40 cents an hour.

In Southern California.

After twelve. Years.

Now I realize those of you living in the heartland might think that's a lot of money.

You obviously don't live in a place where rent on a crap apartment in the barrio starts at $850/month and gas is well over $3/gallon. You can't live on $10.40/hour here, and that is the god's honest truth. I don't mean it like you can't drive a nice car or take a vacation every year. I mean you can't pay rent and buy food. Forget car repair or health. You have to choose between Top Ramen and paying bills. You also work more than one job. And it's easy to say "well, move, then," but explain to me how you're supposed to get the cash together to move out of state when you can't even eat? I'd be homeless right now, if I didn't have TB keeping a roof over my head and feeding me 70% of the time. So once I find out I don't have cancer? I have to get a new job. Suck it up, wave goodbye to health insurance, and move the fuck on.

That sucks.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1