the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Thursday, Oct. 26, 2006 - 3:30 p.m.

Working on pictures of Sacre Coeur. If you have a Flickr invite, there's stuff there to see. I'll get some up here soon. E-me if you're a regular reader and want Flickr access. You'll have to sign up for a free Flickr account to see stuff, though. And thank you to Em for providing me with a pro account so I could put more stuff up. That was very nice of her. :) (xo!)

My landlord brought people to see my apartment last night and this evening. Makes me really sad. I wish he'd cut it the hell out. Not only because it makes me hyper-aware I have to leave soon and is depressing, but also because it's a massive pita. This is my home. I don't like drop-bys. Never have. Never will. I'm a lot like a bear in a den, even on the best of days. Don't just drop by, and don't call me at 1am for a booty call. Homey don't play that, and that ain't the way I roll.

I hope the weather tomorrow is at least as good as it was today, when blue could be seen occasionally passing by. As I'm motivated to go out and shoot tomorrow, however, I doubt it will be. Murphy and I go waaaaay back.

Did you see Rush Limbaugh do his version of Michael J. Fox on his pissy little show this week? I did, and I have to say no apology in the world makes up for that kind of ignorant, hateful behavior. It was appalling. Any idiot on the planet who has seen Michael J. Fox on David Letterman or Jay Leno in the last few years (or for that matter, the guest appearance he did on Spin City after he left, where he came back for his character's wedding) knows his disease makes it impossible for him to sit still. Limbaugh's performance was vile and deeply, deeply disgraceful. Or would be, had Limbaugh any grace left to him.

Why is it that every loony with a high-powered rifle is a Republican? I'm just asking. Seriously. How come you never pick up the paper and read some liberal climbed a bell tower and went to town? I AM NOT saying all conservatives are the kind of jerk who walks into McDonald's with a loaded semi-automatic. I'm just saying that the fact that most of the people who do are conservative should give you a little pause and make you wonder just what is it about conservatism that draws that kind of person. (I am not implying all conservatives are evil. I just wonder what the deal is with that.)

I was in an antique shop with my friend Beth today, and the shop owner was a self-described Israeli jew who was born to Afghani parents in Afghanistan. With no provocation, she announced she loves George Bush, because "he is a friend to Israel and understands reality." You can imagine how very, very hard it was for me to keep politely quiet at that, but I did. It amazes me that people like that don't understand Bush's evangelistic motivation any better than they do, and she doesn't give a damn what other f'd up stuff he does, because "he is a friend to Israel and understands reality." But that's not the part of the conversation that made me sick.

What made me sick is that she feels it is perfectly acceptable for the Israeli government to bomb a school full of elementary children in Lebanon if "terrorists" have stored a bomb in one of the school rooms. She was livid that the press shows the bodies of children who have been blown up and denounces the shelling of the school without acknowledging that there was a bomb hidden there, because the presence of ordnance in a building makes the killing of CHILDREN fair game. 100% acceptable. Not even unfortunate, and completely justified. I missed that particular story, but her son had supposedly been in the school and had his camera with him, and took a picture of the one bomb - the single item of ordnance - in the building, but after the Israeli government shelled the school and killed kids, she was angry that the press didn't care that there was a bomb hidden there, didn't show her son's picture of the bomb, did not find that an acceptable rationale for blowing up school children. She found the press coverage biased and unfair.

What the fuck is wrong with her? I literally could not stay in the same room with her. I told Beth we had to go and made up a reason. Then I stood outside and waited while Beth said goodbye. That I felt I needed to be polite and bothered to make up a reason why we had to leave makes me want to slap myself. That I politely told her thank you and good day when everything inside of me recoiled at the sight of her. I can't cope that there are people in this world who can watch children shelled and then whine that the press coverage wasn't fair. And she was lividly, lividly pissed off. She launched into a diatribe of the unfairness of a press that didn't care that there was a single bomb placed on the school grounds and chose to focus instead on the fact that Israel had just knowingly and purposely blown up civilians in a school building merely because that one fucking piece of explosive had been there too. I don't like this world. I don't like people. I don't like someone who will bitch that the press is unfair because all it cared about was dead kids. I really have to wonder at the motivation of a god that called off the rains and sent a rainbow to promise he'd never do it again.

We as a species have squandered and abused every gift God has ever given us. We don't treat each other with kindness or compassion, we wipe crap all over the environment and rape and pillage this planet's resources, as if the tiny globe we occupy is a neverending cornucopia, a smorgasbord of plunder to do with as we will. Do you realize that right now - right freaking now - we are living at 125% the capacity of the planet? We have exceeded earth's renewable, sustainable resources and are now dipping into what's been stored. The planet can no longer keep up with the demands we are placing on it. By the year 2061, we will be running at 200%. That means it will take TWO Earths to meet the demands of the human race. And we show not only no signs of stopping, we have absolutely no intention of letting up. This is a beautiful place. It's a fucking miracle, and every time I look at a tree, the horizon where mountain meets sky and the sun sets behind it, the stars in a country sky, the grace in a cat, the beauty of a wolf, or the efficiency of an African veldt ecosystem, I see God. I see a place so astoundingly beautiful, it takes my breath away and makes me feel unimaginably insignificant, yet unbelievably blessed that God loved us enough to give us this place as our home. I can't imagine there's a more beautiful, amazing place in the entire universe, I love this cathedral so much. And we fuck it and ourselves over in a way that angers me so much I don't know how God stands it. It must break his heart. I don't know how he forgives us, over and over again. I wouldn't. Humans are lucky I'm not a god. I'd have laid waste to the human race long ago. I think God should do so now. A transcontinental plague would really not be amiss. But I'm not a god. And God made a promise. And we continue to abuse that promise and ourselves. We mock invalids and shell schools and hunt animals to extinction. I just hope one day we learn. :(


copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1