the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Friday, Jun. 02, 2006 - 8:28 p.m.

The following was posted to Craigslist for Chicago on May 19, 2005, in the Missed Connections section. I got it from this guy, who had the good sense to copy it to his blog. You can not make this stuff up.

Man seeking his lost light saber - River East 3am showing

Sorry for posting here but there is no lost and found heading and I'm desparate.

If anyone happened to go to the 3am showing of SW III last night and found an Obi-Wan Kenobi light saber, please respond ASAP.

I lost it sometime during the movie. It must've fell out of it's holder, as my Obi-Wan robe was hanging over the edges of the seat. I was sitting about half way up center right, next to my roommate who was wearing a Storm Trooper uniform - Some woman made him take his helmet off right before III started and they had a brief argument about it - maybe you heard it - what a bitch - You ain't no Leah, sweetheart. Anyway... I'm thinking it probably rolled down a few rows. If it wasn't for the 5 or 7 Old Milwaukees (Thanks Obi-Wan Robe deep pockets) my roommate and I had before the show I could've just used the force to levitate it back to me, but hey, who am I kidding?

By the way: HOW COOL WAS THE TRANSFORMATION INTO VADAR SCENE!!!? SO WICKED, SINISTER AND SWEEEEET! By the way, I was the one who yelled out, "Now rise, ya' asthmatic!" after he took his first mechanized breaths. ZING! YES!!

Anyway, I bought the saber at a convention about 15 years ago in Kansas City. It was made from the same mold as the original and hence, you can see why I'd be so Rogered to get it back. I'd be willing to pay a reward, no questions asked upon its return - or I could just treat you to a second showing of III - I'll throw in a drink and whatever concession you want - just please no nachos as they crunch loud and I can't hear the killer sound effects - so a soft candy or even popcorn is cool - with butter to dull the crunchiness.

The Obi-Wan saber is silver with a black "Saber On/Saber Off" button. It's also the same weight as the original, about 3 lbs - can you imagine having a fight with Vadar or whoever waving a 3 lb saber around for that long!?? That's not including the actual laser light either, although I'm guessing the laser light would only add a few more ounces at most.

To anyone who hasn't seen III yet, you're going to absolutely love it. I couldn't sleep at all when I got home. If I had a girlfriend, she probably would've been like, "Shut up already and go to sleep." I did come up with a great invention idea though for an alarm clock that whenever it goes off, instead of a "BEEP, BEEP, BEEP" it uses the Emperor's voice saying: "Now, Riiiiise."

So cool!!!!!!!!

Okay, thanks for your patience and please email me with any info.

May the force be with you all and thanks again in advance.

It was originally posted here, but the link is now dead: http://chicago.craigslist.com/mis/74270960.html


copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1