the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Thursday, Feb. 26, 2004 - 4:44 a.m.

This will be short, because once again I am up writing and surfing at 4:44am, when I should be sleeping. Why, I do not know, because I am totally sleep deprived, but whatever. The fact is, I am up.

I blame Snood.

So, I have been informed I'm a literal idiot for not figuring out that the last part of Adaptation was supposed to be a satire or parody of Big Hollywood Movies, and that's why it degenerated into one. I'm sorry, but I really just don't buy that excuse. That probably is what Charlie Kaufman was thinking, but it really Did Not Work. Even the people informing me I am a dweeb for not getting that the whole Deliverance-Bad 80's movie veer was satire think it Did Not Work. So Chuck? If you're out there? WTF?

Today's movie was Lost In Translation, which is good. Bill Murray was excellent in it, as was Scarlett Johannsen (sp?), who keeps getting more beautiful every day. She's not typically beautiful, but she's still beautiful.

I don't know why I feel compelled to qualify that. Just shut up and ride it out.

I also saw Underworld, which a lot of people I know - comic book (excuse me: Graphic Novel) purists, all - thought sucked. Due, of course, to the fact that it did not adhere strictly to the comic book. I mean, Graphic Novel. So what. It was still cool.

I got a pen today in the mail from one of the miriad places that send you crap like that when you register a business name. It says "This pen has been stolen from Dragonfly Design" on it and is a pretty cheap-looking black and red, with the "this has been stolen" part clearly a little rolled up paper inserted into the clear plastic tube that makes up the upper 2/3 of the pen, and it has a little cartoon drawing inside of a little guy wearing a burglar mask running away with a pen in his hand.

Now I ask you: if you own a company called Dragonfly Design, does this sound at ALL like the kind of pen you want bearing your name? Does it? Because trust me, it is not. The other pen someone else sent me, the nice dark green pen made of metal that just nicely says Dragonfly Design and the phone number, THAT is a decent pen. But this cheapass thing? Yeah. Not so much. PEN is even in all caps and bolded. Really, I shudder. It offends every single design sensibility I have.

I would like to go on record at this time as saying that I think it's really bogus Barbie threw Ken over after 43 years of unmarried sex in the Barbie Town Home, primarily because some damn idiot at Mattel got a bug up his ass, because God forfreakingbid Barbie be in a nice, longterm, STABLE relationship with a guy who allows her the freedom to do whatever the hell she wants and who treats her with respect. If you can not depend on Barbie and Ken, who the hell can you depend on? Stupid Mattel.

I made goat cheese pizza tonight for dinner (she says, apropos of nothing), because my friend Mary stood me up for dinner on account of the rain. Which in true LA style is being called a Winter Storm...Storm Watch 2004 can't be far behind.

It sprinkled.

So of course, traffic was at a standstill on every major highway.

I grew up in Texas, where we got 55" of rain a year, so this really sort of irrita--no, it actually does. It irritates me. These people have conniptions every time it drizzles. You people living in areas where it hails in the middle of summer may die laughing now. It really is ridiculous.

But anyway, I made goat cheese pizza, which I was going to describe, but I find I really don't want everybody in the world knowing my recipe for goat cheese pizza, claiming it as their own, and passing it around on the internet or something, because someday me and my buddy Charli may just put out our own cookbook, and then you can pay to get my recipe for goat cheese pizza, because I will be a famous food maven then, making all the best easy stuff. So you know what? No recipe for you.

Bygones.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1