the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Tuesday, Oct. 14, 2003 - 12:57 a.m.

It's official. Sundry is absolutely, hands down, my favorite Diaryland diarist. I mean no disrespect to any of my other faves, and I know I shouldn't really play ultimate favorites, let alone proclaim such, but damn it, that chica is funny. Case in point, this entry about feeding her dog biscuits in the morning. When I got to the second song, I could no longer keep it in. I had to laugh. Sundry Mourning is now the Official Reading Material of Katie Doyle, Girl About Town. I think I'll have to make a button and stick it on over there on the left, just to pay homage. She's just that good. I wish she lived in LA so we could go to dinner or the movies, but I suppose if she did, she would find me unbelievably annoying and obnoxious, so I guess it's better she doesn't live here. Ah, me.

I am proud to announce I have not yet begun my taxes, though I did finally locate my W-2's. That alone took the better part of my evening, and I was hard-pressed not to chuck it all in and go have dinner, but persist I did, and at last they were found, in my leather portfolio, on the bottom shelf of The Boyfriend's big giant book case, where I tossed it the night he decided we simply had to rearrange the furniture in my office, although, in his defense, the furniture did have to all be moved back in, having been moved out in order to finally tile the floor. And having moved the book case in, I suppose it *did* sort of make sense to actually put the books back in it, but I still think it was overkill to have to go and hunt up books from all over the house to put in it, but clearly, I am the only one in the house who thinks so.

Day 3 Without Sugar was fairly rocky, yo. Around 4:00, I was reduced to tears for about 30 seconds, because I was very frustrated and couldn't have chocolate to make it all go away and mellow me back out. (Shut up; I am so capable of the mellow, I just don't always show it.) Right now I have a pretty bad headache. The same headache that started around 7. Ah, the joys of addiction. I did get to "yell" at someone today, though. This loser deadbeat who has been giving us the runaround about paying her bill. Two weeks ago, I sent her the "I'm afraid we're just gonna have to shut you down" email, which went ignored, so we cut her website - and therefore, email - off this weekend. Which caused her to decide fairly quickly that perhaps she ought to pony up the dough, which is 9 months in arrears. But she didn't want to pay all of it, just a fourth of it. Unfortunately for her, my unyielding ass hadn't had any sugar, so I was stubbornly dogmatic in my mantra: when you bring your bill current, you can have your website and email back, but not one nanosecond before. In a nice way, of course. But I did the Snoopy dance when it was over (which was almost as good as sugar), because I hate when assholes try to manipulate you into sacrificing your own livelihood for their convenience, and these people have been duplicitous in the extreme. So taste THAT, FF.org**; I have the fate of your tiny website - not to mention all your frickin' emails - right in the palm of my veangeful little hands, and I am not about to be pushed over.

Bygones.

**not their real name...but it's close.

BTW, dinner tonight was kickASS. I went down the hill to the tiny little Thai restaurant at the bottom of it, and just on a whim, I got this extra dish for TB and I to share, Grapow Scallop, which is INSANE. Seriously, this was about the most amazing thing I have ever eaten, and remember, I just got back from 32 days in France. There were gigantic scallops and mint and green beans in a fennel garlic sort of brown sauce that was amazing. So if you find yourself casing Woodland Hills for something to eat, hit Little Orchids on Ventura Blvd., between Topanga and Canoga, on the south side of the boulevard, and have the Grapow Scallop. You will be glad you did.

I called my best friend in Ft. Worth on the way to work today, because I had this goofy song in my head that her mom used to sing, and I could NOT remember the second line of it. I'm sure she loved that I made her sing it right in the middle of the maze of cubicles she sits in up there high in the sky in the Tandy Building. But I figure it's perfectly acceptable for her to have to do something so geeky as sing this song to me in the middle of her workplace since she's a computer geek and works in a pack of computer programming geeks, so I really doubt this was anything all that out of the norm. Although, she is a fairly shy person, and I'm sure more than a few prairie dogs popped their heads up to see what was going on, because I was on my cell phone in my noisy car, and she sang it fairly loudly. I wonder how many people asked her what that was when we hung up? At any rate, this is the song, sung in a rather meandering tune that I think her mom and Mom's sisters made up when they were kids:

Froggy, him him a queer bird,
A tail him ain't got almost hardly
(that's the line I couldn't remember)
Him flop when him hop
on him tail him ain't got almost hardly.

Yeah. I think a few people asked her what that was about.

So that's it for me. I should get some sleep, because I really should try and get my taxes done tomorrow, which necessitates getting up early, and frankly, I find sleep a much higher priority than Uncle Sam gettin' his greedy misanthropic hands on my hard-earned money. That, and I really, really hate doing my taxes.

Wow, how odd. Today's Anniversary Entry also talks about Sundry. Which just goes to show what a fantabulous writer she is. So go. Read. :)

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.

Hooray for Dog Fur Yoga




*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1