the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Thursday, Oct. 18, 2007 - 11:04 p.m.

You guys with the energy and the prayers and the vibes and reiki, you rock. :) Face is doing much better. He's not out of the woods, but he isn't tenuously clinging to life, either. I can't tell you how relieved, happy, and thankful that makes me. And his mom, I'm sure. :) He still has a ways to go and some serious issues, but he's not in the dire straits he was, and I just know that it's not just that he's such a huge fighter, but that you guys poured the love his way, as well. :) I know his mom is a much happier camper, as well. :) Thank you!

I had some other stuff, about how polling is bad because it directly affects elections, but my stomach hurts, so I'll post it later.

I read Chris Crutcher's "Deadline," and it was very good.

I am almost finished with Diane Ackerman's "The Zookeeper's Wife," and it is also very good.

I read Em's hubby's first novel (and first in a trilogy), "Storms of Espyrea" (by EP Harlow), and it was very Tolkienesque. I keep saying that, but I have no better way to describe it. It's an epic tale, to boot. :) (which is not what makes it Tolkienesque, but does contribute to the Tolkien factor)

I found Jane Austen's "Pride & Prejudice," which I badly wanted to like, extremely longwinded and fairly hideous, full of transgressions and melodramatic phrasing and rephrasing, to the point I skipped several chunks of text. I seem to remember that I liked "Emma," but despite my fondness for the Keira Knightly, Matthew Macfadyen 2005 version of Pride & Prejudice - or perhaps because of it - I really can not say I enjoyed P&P. :(

I am currently reading The Picture of Dorian Gray, which isn't as creepy as I had hoped. I also skip great chunks of exposition in it too, because much as I'd love to hang on Wilde's every word, there are times when he just goes on and on, blah blah blah, about all sorts of things I couldn't care less about. I read most of it, but I skip paragraphs here and there. I'm just too lazy a reader to wade through a bunch of crap I don't care about. And yes, I know that's something akin to sacrilege to say, but I swore, upon completion of Great Expectations, that I would never put myself through the horror of excess exposition and repetitive dialogue ever again, and I mean to keep that promise, oh, yes, I do. Life is too short to waste it on bad books.

Speaking of books, Harry Potter 7 finally went off bestseller status today. (read into that transition what you will)

All right then, I have nothing else.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1