the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Sunday, Aug. 13, 2006 - 2:16 p.m.

It is cold and raining.

Cold. As in, 60. Degrees. Fahrenheit. In the space of one week, it went from 92 and humid as Satan's sauna to 60 and wet. All the time, wet.

Paris, while still awesome, loses some of its magic in the cold and rain.

I'm just sayin'.

Plus, I'm getting antsy. I want to be taking pictures. That's why I came, so being forced indoors or having days where the light is all grey and subdued just kinda bites it. I'm still really happy to be here, but I have hit that point in the trip where you realize you are not going to be on it forever and that time is running out, so now I'm really impatient every day that I can't shoot something. Mainly because I don't have the faintest clue how long this grey is going to last, and it feels like forever and ever and ever.

I think I'm over most of the blechy except for a throat that feels all hot and scratchy and being completely exhausted all the time. Like, waking up takes a monumental effort every day. I must be tossing and turning and not sleeping well, because every single morning when my alarm goes off, I feel like I've had *maybe* 4 hours of sleep, and I'm exhausted.

I went out into the cold and rain today to buy a duvet cover and bottled water (and stock my kitchen) at Carrefour. I got all the way there and discovered that Carrefour was closed, either because it's Sunday or some sort of holiday. I could swear I've been there on Sunday, so I was a little shocked. And nothing else was open, so that was rather disappointing. Since I have nothing in my kitchen and nothing else was open, I stopped at McDonald's on the way home, and man, I have to say I really don't like McDonald's, and McDonald's in France is not any better than McDonald's in America. Less better, even. But I sat and looked out the window at the big crest on Line 6, which passes right at second-story window level there, and I thought man, I really love Paris, and it will suck so much to leave it. I really wish I could stay longer. I kinda wanted to cry, staring out that window into the grey of a rain-filled Paris twilight and realizing I was going to have to go home in less than 2 months. I admit it. I got a little watery for a few seconds, there. :(

On the Metro coming back home, this Asian woman got on and sat directly across from me and pulled out this little flowered book that was obviously oft-used, as it was falling apart. She writes in it for a while and then puts it away. I'm glancing around the train and realize she's fixed me with a look, so I look back at her, and she has these piercing, dark brown eyes. I smile a half-smile at her and she immediately looks away and then pulls out her little book and starts writing again. I figure she must document the events in her daily life. That one probably went something like this: "7:59pm - Made eye contact with woman on train. Did not smile, despite attempt to cajole me into revelry. Wuss."

Okay, gotta go. I think the internet connection is about to take a dive.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1