the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Thursday, Oct. 12, 2006 - 12:57 a.m.

So I struck out for the Eiffel Tower at 6:45 this morning after getting up at 1am and not being able to sleep anymore. It was supposed to be sunny today, and I thought sunrise would be cool. Unfortunately, that was a buncha hogwash. It was drizzly and hideous when I got to Trocadero. I tried to tough it out, but after 45 minutes of drizzle, I'd had enough. During the wait though, I did meet a guy who was walking his dog. He works for a publishing house on the business end and just moved here with his wife to live for another 4 or 5 years. It was funny, because we were both going down the stairs at the Trocadero, and I asked if he spoke english, and he hits me with "Sure do," in a nice strong American accent that was vaguely southern, and I was all, "yeah, you speak english really well!" We ended up talking for about 10 minutes in the drizzle while his gigantic golden retriever frolicked around the grass, then I headed off in search of breakfast and a paper. I had a nice chat with the newstand guy about the weather and how you can pretty much plan on weather that is the exact opposite of whatever the weather people here say it will be (and you really can, too), bought a Times (London paper), and tried to find a restaurant that was serving breakfast. I really wanted an omelette, and none of the bistros there had them, so I hit La Motte Piquet and got one there, with a really nice waiter who insisted on speaking english. His girlfriend is from England, so he said he really needed the practice. I took a few pictures from my seat, so I'll probably post one when I do the download and review thing.

On the way home after breakfast, there was a snooty girl* in a swing coat walking about 8' in front of me, and this decently cute guy who was loading stuff in a truck stopped and did a take when he saw her, then smiled and said something to her as she was walking toward him, which she shot down. He was not to be deterred, however, and kinda stepped a little in front of her and tried again. No luck, but as she passed him, he tried one more time, and she snubbed him and kept walking. I was chuckling as he turned around, and we made eye contact, and he grinned back at me. When I got to him, I said, "She schooled you, dude," and clapped him on the back of his shoulder twice as I passed. He goes, "Comment?" And I stopped and looked up at the sky, wondering how to say it in french, going "schooled...schooled," and he goes, "Ah!" and then said some stuff in french that sounded like he figured out what schooled meant - at least his tone sounded like it and the look on his face was one of recognition, so I think he got it, and I said "Oui! Oui!" and nodded. He laughed and I smiled and said good day and kept going.

I was noshing on marshmallow gummi sharks as I walked, and 15' further on, a storekeeper smiled and told me bon apetit, and I grinned and said bon journee. Then I got home and had a Diet Coke for the caffeine, and I'm writing you guys. I'm going to go somewhere here in a bit. I think to the Rodin museum. Nothing was open at the time, so I thought I'd come home and slam some caffeine first, but I'm ready to head back out again. Need to do laundry, too. And the blue skies BBC weather said we were going to have today are nowhere to be seen. The paper said so, too. I thought LA weather people were bad, but they got nothin' on the Euro weather people. I really miss the Dallas guys. Those were some kickass weathermen. Troy Dungan, you are missed. You and your adorable geek-cool bowties.

Is anyone else freaked that Fergie used to be on Kids, Inc? What is with kid show performers who grow up to be total public ho's? I think "Fergie Ferg" is a perfectly lovely young lady, but she has a real propensity for bizarre stunts and trash. I'm just sayin'.

We won't even go into Britney Spears.

section deleted, because even though I did not in anyway mean it in a racist fashion, it sounded totally, ignorantly racist. i apologize to anyone who may have been offended. :(

While I was writing that, Nadiya's new video, for "Parle Moi" came on. The Fug Girls would have a field day. She's got Princess Leia hair (and not the cool, Empire or Jedi hair, either), and silver satin "parachute" pants that are all poofy at the bottom, with silver lame (lah-may, not lame, though come to think of it...) wrestling shoes. Also a silver sequined backless spaghetti strap halter, but believe me when I tell you that is the least objectionable component of the outfit (barring the crystal collar-style necklace).

When this degenerates into blather about videos, it's really time to go. I have a museum to get to, you know.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1