the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Tuesday, Nov. 07, 2006 - 5:04 a.m.

Sound off if you've voted. And if you haven't, then get your butt in the car and go do it, damn it.

Damn, I had something to write about, but my sleep-addled brain just lost it in the go vote fervor. That was too fervor, shut up. I'm just still waking up. Plus it's slightly easier to be more laidback about an election when you've been out of the country for the 4.5 months leading up to it and have been trying to avoid everything that had anything to do with the thing.

Trying to. I was not entirely successful. When you're a news junkie, election stuff is bound to seep through, no matter how hard you work at avoiding it. And sometimes I didn't try entirely hard, because I got bored and checked out DailyKos a few times, especially when that robocalling thing hit my consciousness. Dirty tactics are one thing, but calling voters to tell them the voter rolls show they're registered in another state and that if they show up to vote they'll be thrown in prison is unbelievably fucking low.

I had to not read any more, what with the blood pressure shooting up and the desire to cry ruining my peaceful existence. That does not make me want to come back to the States, frankly. I wonder when's the last time a truly clean election was run in the US? Was it ever? What was all that bullshit they fed us in school about American values? Seriously. I hated Bill Clinton. I thought he was a sleazy snake oil salesman, and it drove me insane that so many people thought he was awesome. When he lied under oath, that just did me in. I wanted him impeached. He lied under oath. He placed himself above the law when no man is and made a mockery of the Office of the President. By lying under oath, he embarrassed and humiliated all of America on the world stage. I'm still bitter, when I really think about it.

But I hate this administration and congress even more. They have made a mockery of every single thing I ever believed about the United States. It's like finding out there IS a Santa Claus and that he's a drug-dealing pedophile who tortures puppies and kittens and then sneaks into your bedroom and violates you in your sleep. Now, maybe I had an idealized version of America in my head - an America that never existed. But they put it there. And then pounded it out of me, smiling while they did it. They had fun. They have lied, cheated, and stolen. They have slowly dismantled the Constitution and downgraded it to "just a goddamned piece of paper" while they beat me over the head with the frigging Bible, because oh, that's God's own solemn word. They have handed huge chunks of America and America's money over to their buddies and then smirked at the camera lens like it was all a game. They know they're guilty and they know we know it, and still they lie. They lie with a smile, they lie with arrogance, they lie with belligerence, and then, when they're finally caught with their pants down and their hands on their privates, they cry that yes, they've made a mistake, but that somehow it isn't their fault, that they've battled this horror of weakness all their lives, and then they demand mercy from the very public they smirkingly abused.

They have stolen my paradise. Maybe America was never really the land of the free and the home of the brave. Maybe it wasn't ever truly forthright and good. That was a myth they told us in school, designed to elicit a patriotic will in the people to defend robber-barons and snake oil salesmen from other robber-barons and snake oil salesmen. But the Constitution says we are more. The Constitution is a covenant. Entered into by the people, for the people, in the *people's* interest. All of us. From the lowliest immigrant to the President of the United States. And he rules by the authority of that covenant, and in so doing, is sworn to protect it. As is every single member of Congress, who also rule solely by the authority of that covenant. Which means by the authority of the American people. Me. You. That guy down the street who lets his dog poop on your lawn, and the girl in the next cubicle who insists on always using her speakerphone. WE are this country. And I might not like you, I might not like what you do or how you treat your fellow man. But that covenant is with you, as well as it is with me. That's the hallowedness of it. That's what makes it as pure a covenant as can be ever engineered by man. That's what sets it above the Bible, to me. It's easy to enter into an agreement with God. He's all-powerful and will always have the final word, whether you keep yours, or not. But to enter into an agreement with your fellow man, to promise equality and justice to everyone, not just those you like, not just those you get along with and agree with, and then to dedicate yourself to keeping those ideals, even when you really hate the guy you've promised to protect and defend, that takes someone truly good. Truly strong. Truly brave. Truly right. And the men in power now would strip us of that covenant. And in so doing, of all that is good and pure and right about America. All that I believed in. All that made me proud to be an American and made the Fourth of July my favorite holiday and Memorial Day a day of solemn remembrance and quiet time. And that is what I've lost, what these men have taken from me. It's what Bill Clinton frayed at the edges when he lied under oath. This administration and congress have taken up the threads of that frayed edge and systematically pulled them away, unravelling the flag itself, every pure thing it stood for.

So when I hear a recording of a party volunteer calling an American citizen to lie and threaten them with imprisonment if they exercise their civic duty and show up to vote, it fills me with rage and an unbearable sorrow. It is everything I believed destroyed. The destruction of the Constitution is the destruction of America. If you don't believe that, if you can stand by and watch it dismantled, I can't know you. There's more at stake to me than a political party, more at stake than an election. It is my life, my belief system, everything I hold dear. If you don't value the things that made us who we are, that guide us to be more, then I don't want to know you. The Constitution is not "just a goddamned piece of paper." And the men and women who hold that it is violate us all.

So, uh, yeah. I guess I'm awake, now.

Peace out,
Katie


copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1