the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Sunday, Aug. 27, 2006 - 6:26 p.m.

What up, yo? I hope everyone had a good weekend. :)

I slept in Saturday, because I was up late on Friday working on images till about 6am, and then at 8:30, the screeching banshee nextdoor decided to have another one of her uh-punctuated bitchfests for about an hour. When she finally hung up, I slept until 1, and then I went to get a haircut, which I am happy to say turned out well. It's pretty freaking short, but the guy didn't have much to work with to begin with, and it's pretty much in the style I wanted, so I'm happy with it. It's amazing what a picture can do to help you communicate what you want when you don't speak the language very well, so hats off to Marie-Pierre for printing the images for me...woohoo! I honestly can not remember for the life of me what I did between the end of my haircut, at about 3:00 and laundry at about 7:30, but it didn't suck, whatever it was. I seem to remember having been on the Metro yesterday, but I couldn't tell you where I went to save my life. Which is kinda weird. I remember having to hustle to make laundry.

Today, I went back to Denfert-Rochereau, because I screwed up my camera settings on Friday or whenever it was that I was there, and a lot of the images were toast. I am hoping I did better today. I got some bitchin' pictures of a bee, which considering my terror of all things sting-y, is a mortal triumph.

I took pictures there for about 3 hours, until yet another freaking guy attached himself to me and would not go away. This one kept putting his arm around me and slipping his arm through mine. I really wasn't sure how to handle it, because he was very immature and junior highish, so it was rather disconcerting. He finally said "Is this okay?" and I said no, and he cut it out and only touched me once more, besides shaking my hand when we parted ways. I only talked to him to begin with because I was standing in the grass near a monument, taking pictures of the Chinese Lanterns (Albutilon hybridum), and he stood at the edge of the path and said something i didn't understand. I had been worried someone was going to yell at me for being on the grass, and he was wearing what looked like a uniform, so I gathered my stuff up and went over and said I was sorry, and then it turned out all he wanted was a cigarette, but now that he had his in (despite my having none because I do not smoke), he freaking attached himself to me. Damn near litrally. I went back to resume photography, and the next thing I know, he's standing literally with his chest and shoulders pressed against my back, his chin resting on my shoulder, peering at my camera screen. But again, it was so immature, I was at a loss for how to deal with it. I decided to leave the park, and he followed me and just would NOT let up. I told him I'm in Paris with my husband, who is studying music while I *work* taking pictures, and he refused to take the hints. I said, no, I can't go to a cafe and have a drink. No, I do not want a beer. No, I don't want to eat dinner. Etc. I'm WORKING. I'm MARRIED. No, he wanted to take me to another, bigger park "near the university," and the little voice in my head was all, "Katie, you have no idea where that is, and you do not want to be alone with this person," so I kept saying no, I have to take pictures of buildings, and that just didn't work, so I made an abrupt turn and headed for the subway and said I was going to Notre Dame, to climb the tower and do pictures of gargoyles. That worked, as apparently, he only rides the bus, and Notre Dame was too far away. YAY! I got on the Metro and headed home to do laundry, but I was really irritated, because damn it, there was still sun to burn. What the hell is wrong with men, anyway? If I'm walking down the street or in a museum, nobody says freaking boo to me, but give me a camera and let me be totally engrossed in what I'm doing, and they freaking pour out of the damn woodwork and won't go the fuck away. And I am one of those people who gets really freaking irritated when I'm doing something I really want to be doing and someone interrupts it. If I have a camera in my hand, people, do not bother me. Sheesh.

And I know what you guys are going to say - "Say you don't understand, Katie, use the American to your advantage." Dude. Tried it and failed. English speakers, the lot of 'em. Cripes. And save the rudeness thing. I'm working on it, but purposefully rude is just not in my nature. It was pounded out of me as a child in the 70s South. Girls were not allowed to say no unless a guy was trying to get into their pants, at which point of course no really meant yes. ::eyeroll and a valiant attempt at squelching the rage:: It's a slow process to unlearn that damage, but let me tell you, if I ever have kids, I'm going to encourage the no word. BIG time.

When I got to the laundromat, it was too late to do laundry, on accounta my laundry having instituted a new pre-closing cutoff time for the starting of machines, so I stood there with my clothing and soap already in the washer, wondering what the hell to do for clean clothing. There was another lady there, and she asked how much I had to do, and then invited me to her house to do my laundry! Can you imagine? She invited a total stranger to her home at 8:30pm on a Sunday night to do laundry! So I went, and met her husband and two boys (5 and 6) and had dinner and ended up staying until 11:30pm, and we traded numbers and they're going to invite me to dinner again and introduce me to some of their friends. Marie is a doctor, and her husband Philippe is the french equivalent of a Securities Exchange Commissioner. I had a wonderful time with them. It was really cool. :)

After that, I walked the 15 minutes home and hung up my laundry to dry, started this, had a snack, watched a James Bond movie (The Man With the Golden Gun...we are now up to the Roger Moore years) in french, looked at images to see if they came out decently, edited a few, wrote 5 emails, and then came back to finish this. Now that that's done, I have to go to bed, because the cable guy is coming tomorrow...perhaps...and I have to be up in 6 hours. And I'm sure in 2.5, the banshee nextdoor will start screaming at someone or obsessively locking her damn door. So I should really brush my teeth and get to bed. However, I would like to say that my mailbox is totally empty and has been for the last 4 weeks, so if anyone out there wanted to send me a card, postcard, or letter, it would be greatly appreciated. Send it to:

304, rue Lecourbe
Appartement 21
75015 Paris
France

Merci!

And now tell me this picture does not rock. It's not cropped well, because I'm tired as all get-out, but is that guy not gorgeous? :)

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1