the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Monday, Jul. 24, 2006 - 12:50 p.m.

I am friggin' pissed, yo. I spent all damn day at home, unable to leave and totally stoked I was finally going to get a mode of communication here, as well as the ability to watch news and understand what the hell is going on in the world right now...CNN, man. I can actually find out what's going on at home, as well as watching Euronews in English and finding out the whole world thing as uncolored by mainstream American media. But did the cable/phone guy show up? Oh, nooooooooooooooooo. No, he did not. Because the french work ethic is that you pack your ass up at the end of the work day and go home, whether there's still shit to be done, or not, and since I was obviously the guy's last stop in his work day and he didn't feel like working past the clock, he just didn't bother to come by.

So I still have no phone and no fucking cable, and it willl probably be another week and a half before I get another scheduled appointment the guy may or may not bother to show up for.

I am really, really, REALLY fucking pissed. That was keeping me going this entire fucking week, knowing I would finally have a phone and english news today. I swear to God, it's going to take everything I've got not to rip the shit out of the guy who finally shows up. Not to mention I'm fucking paying for cable I do not fucking have, and that always pisses me off.

Not. Happy.

Know what cheers me up a little? This commercial*, which I just spent over an hour looking for a link for so you guys could see it, it's just that damn good. If that one doesn't work (click the Quicktime link under the banner image at the top of the page), then try this one at Milk and Cookies. I love this commercial. I will stop whatever I'm doing just to watch it, and every so often, I still see a new detail I missed before.

* (it helps if you remember to put the little = sign after the href tag...duh!)

After I waited until 7:30 for the cable guy (whose window was from 4-6), everything I needed to do was closed, so I hauled ass to Monoprix so I could get something for dinner before they closed. And buy water, because the tap water here is not dependable (sometimes it tastes truly vile), so you *have* to stock bottled water, and I was out. I can't express to you enough the importance of having a cold bottle of water in the fridge when you finish climbing 4 flights of stairs on a hot day. So I had to lug 6 1.5 liter bottles up 4 flights of stairs today, along with a few other things, and I gotta tell you, that'll take it out of you by the last half of the last flight, and then I hit the landing and survey the final 3 steps up to my door with some serious misgiving.

That's it for me for now. Go look at that commercial. I promise it's cool.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1