the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Saturday, Sept. 23, 2006 - 6:37 p.m.

Holy crap, my head hurts. I've got a migraine building, and it looks to be a doozy. Clobbering my head on the sink did not help. (Don't ask.) Neither did the half bottle of 1999 bordeaux I consumed earlier this evening, at dinner. But damn, that was some good wine. :)

Come to think of it, perhaps the wine is the reason for the pounding...

I stepped on a piece of glass with my bare feet today and gave myself a nice 5mm puncture wound. Got blood all over the carpet, too. And believe me, when I say all over, I mean all over. On the upside, I now know how to get blood out of a wool carpet. On the downside, I know how to get blood out of a wool carpet, and the reason hurt like hell. Considering I probably trekked the damn chunk of glass in in the treads of my shoes, and the bacterial schmorgasbord that is any street in Paris, what with all the excrement and waste, could you maybe say a prayer I won't get tetanus or gangrene or anything? The last shot I had for tetanus was in 1995, so that baby wore off a year ago, and while I never in my life gave any thought to the fear of tetanus before, so trust me, there is something about cutting oneself on anything off the ground here in Paris that well inspires that fear. And I grew up on a dairy and laid my right knee open all the way to the bone on a *filthy* barbed wire fence and did not fear tetanus. That should tell you something, because that baby got infected and turned all kinds of disgusting colors and goopy. But puncture wounds are especially bad news, and this one is really freaking me out, what with the level of filth I know was on that damn glass. Prayers are happily, happily accepted. Merci beaucoup.

Plus, it hurts. Apparently, my foot doesn't like having a shard of glass shoved up into the side of it all that much. I've got a 5mm slice and a quarter inch square bruise, and the whole side of my food hurts in a most unpleasant fashion. Stupid nerve endings.

(And to all the moms out there who I know will ask, yes, I cleaned it as best I could, with alcohol and camphor and hydrogen peroxide. I will buy some sort of Neosporin type product tomorrow, and I tried to get it to bleed out - after I hung it into the bathtub - to try and help flush out as many germs as possible.)

Also, I had no band-aids, so That33Girlie, you will be happy to know that self-stick stamps are an excellent way of adhering cotton pads to one's skin, in the event a makeshift band-aid is needed when one steps on a piece of glass. At least until a real band-aid can be acquired.

Which reminds me, The Facester hasn't been feelin' so good, so those of you with prayers please send them T33G & Face's way. I'm sure they would be appreciated.

Peace out,
Katie


copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1