the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Saturday, Jan. 01, 2005 - 4:27 a.m.

Tsunami relief effort(s)

I oftentimes find I have Sunnflower's "voice" in my head. The "What I Learned" part, anyway.

So, I went to the post office to mail some jewelry today, and the postman guy was totally helpful and nice when one of my boxes proved to be problematic. Usually the employees in my post office are snarky or downright nasty, so I really appreciated all his help and patience. So as I was gathering my change and other stuff up and preparing to leave the counter, I said to him, "Thanks; you're the bomb."

Do not do this.

Said utterance was met by an abrupt stillness one generally only encounters in film, a pause which was probably only about 3 seconds in duration, but which felt a lot more like oh, I don't know, eternity. Not only the guy right in front of me, who had helped me, but the guy to his right AND the guy to his left went into this Tharnlike suspension of time and motion wherein I was the center of their entire universe - and not in a good way, judging from the looks on their faces. The guy to the left of the guy to my guy's left (2 guys down on my right), however, did not freeze. No, he leaned back to look around the guy between me and him in a way one also generally only sees in movies, and usually the funny ones, but in a distinctly unfunny fashion, which tipped off the guy he was helping, who turned to see what all the fuss was and looked at me, which the customer between me and him *and* the one to my left had already done when their respective postal helpers freaked, and ALL of them stared at me, the postmen in utter "WHAT-did-you-say" fashion, so I reacted by standing there gazing back at all of them rather dumbly, wondering why they were looking at me like that. I looked back at the guy in front of me, and he literally choked out "What did you say?"

Everyone was suspended. Everyone. It was sort of like an EF Hutton commercial. Which was a little unnerving, frankly. So I sort of meekly and quietly said back to the guy, "You-you're the bomb?"

At which point everyone sort of sagged and he said (fairly loudly; I guess relief does that to a person), "Oh, I thought you said 'you have the bomb'." Which of course got the attention of every single person in the lobby, and that was no small number of people. And then all of whom then looked at me like "dork; you're how old and you just told the postman he's the bomb?"

I swear, there were eye rolls. I know there were.

The other postmen went back to what they were doing and I apologized all embarrassed for not thinking, finished picking up my stuff and got the hell outta there. I mean, what else can you do? But take a tip from your Aunt Katie, will ya? Don't tell the postman he's the bomb.

Ever.

And have a Happy New Year.

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1