the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Thursday, Oct. 05, 2006 - 3:41 p.m.

Okay, I hate getting sick in another country. I feel like crap, peeps. And I can't get any of the food I normally eat when I'm sick. There's not a saltine to be had in this entire country, and Campbell's soup is absolutely non-existent. Although I did find a semi-viable substitute for Diet 7-Up, and another for Fresca, and that was an immense relief, because when my stomach is upset, I really want Diet 7-Up or Fresca.

Unfortunately, you can't get Pepto-Bismol here, and believe me, I am at a place where I really need a bottle of Pepto-Bismol. Even the Alka-Seltzer here is not actually Alka-Seltzer, and is made with maltitol as a sweetener. Maltitol, for those of you who don't know it, causes stomach upset when taken in liberal amounts...as in, the kind of amounts you need to take to settle an upset, gurgly stomach. So the stuff I am supposed to take to calm my gurgly stomach causes gurgly stomach. Explain to me the logic in that. I hate irony. And I feel really crappy.

Do those of you who blog ever read someone else's blog, and you're like so jealous they blog better than you? I do (and some of those people read here). When I actually put effort into writing, I know I'm a good writer, and I just toss off blog entries with less thought than I'd put into a rough draft, so it's really silly, but when I read a well-written blog entry, I'm telling you, I am utterly jealous over the perfect turn of phrase some people have, and their powers of self-expression. They make their lives sound like a story, and I know such a sense of envy over it, I want to rewrite every one of my blog entries so that they're polished and witty and urbane, like some Pulitzer Prize-winning dispassionate author sat down and turned my life into something pithy and creative. But alas, I am just me.

Stupid talented bloggers.

Bygones.

Okay, I have to go lie down again. I kinda wanna hurl. At least the weather still sucks.

Here's an image from better days, both health and weather-wise. I call it "Coupe de Ville."

Coupe de Ville

Peace out,
Katie D

ps. I am really going to try to curb the f-bomb droppage here from now on, because when I reread an entry and even I am shocked by the sudden strong cursage, there's way too much liberal effing going on. On the bright side, however, I don't cuss out loud here in Paris, because it would be highly inappropriate to do so. So it's nice to know that the old filter I used to have, that suited my cursing to the environment has not totally gone. I thought it had, because a LOT of times in the last several years, I have let the f-word go in company where I really shouldn't have, and I now have to concentrate on not cursing in order to not curse, but here, I just don't curse. Except in the sanctity of my own apartment and on days when the cable girl has been a right proper c-word and hung up on me for my lack of proper french language skills. And all that being said, I generally only curse when my stress levels are really high, so you can pretty much tell how freaked out I am in life by the level of cursing present in a blog-entry. All those entries chock full o' variations of the f-word, with liberal sprinklings of other expletives? Those would be very angry days. As someone once said to me, "You got a lotta anger in you," and he was right. And it comes out in my choice of language, which makes me feel slightly better, but is probably really jarring to other people, so I'm going to make a concerted effort to at least change the f*cks to fricks, frigs, freaks, and fecks. Deal? kd

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1