the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Thursday, Sept. 28, 2006 - 1:29 p.m.

I've just watched My Favorite Year and been reminded of what a brilliant, wonderful, glorious creature is Peter O'Toole.

Not that I needed reminding. I've been in love with Peter O'Toole for as long as I can remember. I consider him the most brilliant actor who ever lived. His comedic timing is dead-on and perfect, and he can go from hysterical one moment to heartbreaking the next. And then back to hysterical. He becomes whatever role he's taken on and never wavers once. You do not EVER see a moment where the being on screen is Peter O'Toole acting and not the character he has given life to. He is riveting, dynamic, and still, all at once. His performance in Lawrence of Arabia is such that when I walked into the lobby during intermission and saw photos of the real Lawrence, I was shocked he was nothing like Peter O'Toole. He is one of only two actors that were I to find myself in the same room with them, I'd be terrified to say a word, for fear of appearing an unmitigated buffoon and dipping down inutterably in their estimation, and the first of those is Peter O'Toole. I actually dread the day he leaves us, he's just so wonderful. It's an unpardonable crime he does not have an Oscar. :(

I don't really have anything else. The last 2 days have been pretty uneventful except for difficulty with a washing machine and an odd moment at dinner last night. I was dining with a mix of french and american people, and someone said he thought french restaurant workers were more teamwork oriented than their american counterparts, and I said well, it depends on the restaurant and the staff, that sometimes you work with a lot of 20-year-olds, and they think all they have to do is show up. This is how that went:

Me: "It depends on the restaurant. And the staff. Sometimes you get stuck with a bunch of 20-year-olds..."

His sister: "Or Mexicans."

Me: (wha???) "...who think all they have to do is show up, collect their tips, and go home." (the fuck???)

I didn't say anything because I was unsure how to respond to it and I'd just met the person that evening, about 2 hours before, and didn't want to get into a huge argument. Had I been at a party at a friend's house where it would have stayed between us, I would have gotten into it, but last night, I figured it was better to ignore it, especially since no one else reacted to it in the slightest. But I really want to know where the hell that came from, because I have to tell you, in 14 years of waiting tables, the hardest damn workers in every restaurant were the hispanic personnel. They had all the crap jobs, from bussing tables and cleaning the restrooms when someone threw up, to washing dishes, cleaning the kitchen, and standing back on the line, busting their asses in the heat to get food out. Every thankless job there was to do in the place landed squarely on them, and they did it without bitching at me about how hard it was, even when I threw a wrench into their works or made a mess making cocktail sauce on the fly on Valentine's Day in a restaurant that didn't serve cocktail sauce. None of my bussers ever bitched about the disgusting nature of bussing tables, and a lot of them did it with a smile on their faces and went the extra mile to help my ass out when I was slammed. Unlike my fellow waiters, who were reaping the benefits of tips and busser labor and who never do anything BUT bitch about having to do sidework or tell you they're too busy leaning against the ice machine and flapping their gums to take a glass of tea out to one of your tables.

So if it had been even a tiny bit appropriate to dress her ass down right there in the middle of a trendy french restaurant among other people I don't know very well, you bet your ass I would have. Because I will brook a lot of shit, but saying someone is lazy based on the color of his skin is not one of them. I know that I have made statements on this diary opposing illegal immigration. But I have never once intimated that even people who are here illegally do not work their asses off, and I think it's pretty much crap to imply otherwise when most of the scutwork in this country is done by immigrants, of any race. So let's be clear, people. Laziness is universal. It has nothing to do with the color of your skin or your religion or any other damn thing besides whether or not you are just at your core a loser. Bigotry is universal, too. But sometimes I wonder if maybe rich, white americans don't have a little more than their fair share of that bullshit.

Peace out,
Katie

ps. and 2 hours later, I was the ass, when I committed a major social faux pas and learned that when you say something really stupid and offend someone, you should say "I'm sorry" immediately and then shut up, otherwise it's too late to say you're sorry.

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1