the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Thursday, Dec. 06, 2007 - 12:14 a.m.

My birthday was Tuesday. TB took me out for an awesome french dinner way in the middle of nowhere, an hour north of LA. We had an insane amount of rich food, including:

Cheese plate (chevre, havarti, 2 unidentified, apples, walnuts)
Salmon dumpling in cream sauce, garnished with shrimp (mmmmm!!!)
Crabcake in an awesome, lemony cream sauce of some sort
Dinner salad with incredible vinaigrette of some sort
Filet mignon au poivre with brocolli and mashed sweet potatoes that were the most delicious thing I may have ever had (me)
Filet mignon with roquefort cream sauce and the same sides for TB
Tiramisu-like desert
Chateauneuf du Pape, quite possibly my favorite wine ever, 2003

It was awesome, but it was also so rich, and there was so much sauce on TB's filet, that he was unable to finish. Plus, the filets were a little undercooked. I felt bad he didn't really enjoy his that much. I offered to share mine with him, but I think he didn't want to interfere with the pig I was making of myself and turned me down. Mine had the perfect amount of sauce, while his was literally swimming, which is unfortunate, as it was much more rich than the pepper sauce mine had.

He got me jammies for my birthday present, which is exactly what I wanted. :) After dinner, we came home and watched a movie. It was a nice day. :)

Thank you, Cannon, for my birthday email. You got in ahead of everybody else. :) I keep meaning to email you back. I'm sorry I haven't, yet.

That's all I got. I picked up a shift for tomorrow, so I really should be in bed. Unfortunately, I didn't get up until noon today, so I'm pretty wide awake when I really should be sleeping. Alas.

How about that idiot in the mall today? He said in his note that he'd fucked his life up, but now he'll be famous. What an asshat. I'd like to be able to feel sorry for him, because it sounds like he really did get a raw deal in parents. But when your method of coping is to decide to commit suicide and take as many random strangers with you as possible so that you can be famous, I really hope God has some special words for you when you get up close and personal with him. I got nothin' in my heart for that little schmuck. My friend Bill would point out that he must have been in a lot of pain. My response to that is that sometimes an asshole is just an asshole.

I used to think maybe Mike Huckabee wouldn't be a horrible president. Then I found out today what horrible judgement he has, and he's not willing to take responsibility for that bad judgement. I can no longer consider voting for him if Hillary is the Democratic option.

Speaking of Dems, I can't believe those jerks in Congress had the balls to give themselves 3-4 day work weeks for the coming year. The rest of us work a full 5 days a week, and we're NOT in charge of taking care of the country's needs. With all the crap going on in this country right now, from "mortgage crises" to the occupation of Iraq and everything in between, I can not believe there is such a huge "disconnect," the House sees fit to work less than half the frigging week, with only 3 - count 'em, THREE - full work weeks scheduled for the entire year. And even what they've scheduled, laughable as it is, they're scheduled to work more days now than they were under the schedule Republicans had set. No frigging wonder nothing ever gets done in Washington. I can't tell you how disgusted I am.

Speaking of the "mortgage crisis," I've been quiet on it for lo, these many weeks, but today I snapped. I work for a living. I get by with nothing. My car is nearly 20 years old and has no air conditioning, despite the fact I live in a desert with triple degree heat a huge portion of the year. I haven't purchased a new dress or dress shoes in over 10 years. (the only new clothes I've purchased in that time are mostly some $5 t-shirts, work clothes, and some new bras) I don't own a jet ski, real jewelry, a nice, dressy coat, a hummer, or my own house. I do not have a credit card. If I weren't working at the BCB, I wouldn't have health insurance. I don't even own a DOG because I can't afford one and couldn't properly care for it if something bad happened that required it to have medical attention.

So it really pisses me off that I will be expected to bail out every schmuck in this country who's been living beyond their means for the last however many years, buying cars they couldn't afford, houses they couldn't afford, boats they couldn't afford, taking vacations they couldn't afford*. Jerks who insist on living a celebrity lifestyle on a janitor's paycheck, racking up $75K or more in credit card debt and hundreds of thousands of dollars in second and third mortgages, all so they could keep up with the Joneses and fantasize that they were Britney Spears or whatever vapid, shallow being they wanted to emulate the lifestyle of. You got a home loan you couldn't afford?* Boohoo to you. I do not care for your "hardship". I don't have a house because I know I can't afford one. It's called responsibility. Plenty of people in this world get by on what they earn. They don't apply for credit card after credit card, spending money they do not and will not ever have, buying shit they can not afford, only to turn around a few years later crying about how they didn't mean to and now they need help.

I do not care that these jerks need help. No one picked my ass up when cancer kicked it to the curb and I lost my job AND my home, and that was an unforeseen circumstance, not a mess I knowingly and wholeheartedly walked right into, arrogantly thinking that if I screwed up, I could just declare bankruptcy and get free of it all. And what pisses me off most of all about this, is that Congress is going to bail these fat, lazy asses out because this is an election year. And these losers will take the 5 years Congress is giving them to sell their houses or figure out how to siphon off some of their debt so that they CAN keep their homes, and they're going to do nothing. They will look at that 5 years and think to themselves that they're fine. They don't need to do anything, because they have five whole years, and what's not due tomorrow is not due at all. So they will not consolidate their debt. They will not sell off some of the overpriced toys they're so fucking proud of. They will not get a second job to help pay down their mortgage (not for the least reason that probably half of them have interest-only loans that prevent you from ever doing so), and five fucking years later, they'll still be in the exact same position they're in now, mewling and whining about how they were duped and taken advantage of, and once again, my hardworking, responsible ass will have to take care of them *and* their lazy, give-it-to-me-now, I-deserve-it, irresponsible bullshit.

::sigh:: Sorry, but I'm really pretty angry about the whole thing. It's bullshit that people who work hard and live within their means consistently have to clean up after and support the fly-by-night assholes who think it's possible to work a 4-hour work week and live a rockstar lifestyle, who can't be bothered to get things the honest, old-fashioned way, by working and saving for them. The meek might inherit the earth. But that's only because there won't be anything left of it worth having. :(

Peace out,
Katie

* I should probably adapt this to say that I don't object to everyone getting help, just those people who obviously took out loans they had no business taking. So if you are someone who took out a home loan but something unforeseen has happened to you, and you are in danger of homelessness, I'm really sorry you're dealing with that. If, however, you are someone who took out a loan to turn and burn a house for profit, or you got a loan for an amount of money no one with half a brain on your income would ever even think about taking out, then I'm sorry, but I have absolutely nothing for you, other than the hope you have learned a valuable lesson.

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1