the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006 - 3:19 p.m.

Oh man. I am right now sitting at my desk, listening to the hack "writer" in the opposite corner (kittycorner) talking to the director on the phone, pontificating about shit he knows nothing about on this, hour 5 of his very first day. When he went off about the edgy talent and charisma of our star, it was all I could do to fight off an eyeroll.

I'm not kidding. I had to physically fight the eyeroll. That's why I'm writing you people. To try to keep my game face on over here, because seriously: this chick is about as UNedgy as you can possibly be. Unless we're counting sheer bitchiness as edge, in which case, she makes edgy look like it's going out of style, and then some. He did not mean bitchy, however, he meant cutting edge. He then went on to use the word charming. He's trying to convince the director that standups are good idea, when they ditched standups roughly one hour into the first day of shooting them because she sucks at them. Like, seriously sucks. Not just bad, not just not an actor, I mean holy crap, she's incapable. But this guy, who has been working on the show for all of 4 hours and 24 minutes, knows better than everyone out in the field. This phone conversation is killing me, because not only is he an obnoxious fucking HACK, he's a pretentious obnoxious fucking hack, and a dumbass on top of it. And I can hear the director patiently repeating over and over that perhaps the story editor should leave the shooting to him. The guy hasn't even looked at the footage yet, and he's already bitching.

I went to lunch with the other cool office mate today, and he recounted to me the conversatiion he walked in on at 8:30 this morning, wherein our boss - the one I thought was so cool, stupid me - was telling this idiot how awesome the asshat coworker is, and that he's the one with all the know-how and all the great story experience he has (logging) and he's the go-to guy, while cool guy and I are just fop loggers.

Oh really? YOU MEAN THE TWO OF US DOING ALL THE FUCKING WORK??? The ONLY two doing all the work??? WE ARE THE FUCKING FOPS? Including me, with half my resume nothing but story???

Uh-huh. We decided at lunch that from here on out, we do the minimum work and we leave promptly at 6 every day. And all the transcription kickbacks this fucking hack is already whining about (coz God forfuckingbid he should have to transcribe a sentence here or there when he is making $2000 or more a week to string bites together in a cohesive fashion...better the underpaid and overwhelmed two loggers who are wading thru a ton of other, unlogged footage should do it) can go back to Asshat, since he has already laid claim to all the fun parts. Oh, really? You and your one fucking tape a day habit can do EVERYTHING else, then, coz me, I'm too fucking busy, oh, I don't know, WORKING.

Fuck. There is nothing I hate more than busting my ass for someone who not only doesn't appreciate it, but disparages me in the process. If I didn't have the ASE title, I'd quit right now, and so would cool worker. But with a title, you can't, or you fuck yourself...which is probably why she gave us the title to begin with. Sadly for her, if this show extends past the editing deadline, which I have a feeling it will, since cool guy and I are the only two actually logging, I will not be staying. I have another gig to roll onto when this is done. And man, would that make me happy to say to her.

Gotta go; peace out,
Katie

ps. i have the bare naked ladies "pinch me" on repeat on iTunes right now. word.

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1