the most current entry past either present or future...it depends on when you are archives pick an entry, any entry who's who in doyle town katie's profile 101 things how katie sees it notes, silly, notes! dear katie... our illustrious sponsor


Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2004 - 11:47 p.m.

101 More Things About Me...for those of you who pay attention to these things.

1. My favorite dreams are no longer flying dreams, but the ones where I dream of my dog Jake. He is always happy to see me and comes running over all excited so that I can pound on his sides like I used to and bury my fingers in his fur and hug him, and his fur tickles my nose, and he smells all warm and sunshiny, like he used to. I miss that so much that when I wake up the next day and remember, it makes me want to cry because it was only a dream.

2. I love spending my days off in bed, watching television or reading or reading and watching television, never once even thinking of getting out of my pj's.

3. I never get to do that anymore, unless I'm too sick to enjoy it.

4. I do not have a favorite flower. I think most of them are very nice and deserving of equal status; why should roses get all the glory?

5. I'm not very good at finishing what I start unless I'm very passionate about it and it doesn't take very long to do.

6. I wrote more than 450 pages of my first novel and then stopped writing. There's a reason for it, but the point is, I stopped.

7. I have partially written 4 novels. Someday I have high hopes of finishing one of them...

8. I am a closet reader of Amanda Quick romance novels. They're hilarious. Or used to be. I have not read one in a very long time.

9. I love acting with everything I am and have since I was in kindergarten.

10. When I found out people actually get paid to act, I was absolutely flabbergasted.

11. I wish I could act in television and movies.

12. I love Paris so much, I think of it as home.

13. I hate LA with the white hot intensity of a thousand suns. The traffic alone is enough to inspire that much hatred.

14. I do not understand why some people are so afraid of people who are not like they are. Seriously, what's the problem? Why do you think difference is so terrifying you have to force it to conform or eradicate it entirely?

15. I love partners dancing like slow dances, waltzes, polkas, two-steps. If I could ballroom dance for a living, I would.

16. I do not like Astrud Gilberto. Her voice drives me absofreakinglutely insane.

17. I am probably addicted to Diet Coke. I prefer the caffeine-free kind.

18. I am addicted to sugar. Especially chocolate cake with buttercream frosting...heaven.

19. I hate when they say it's buttercream but it's really just sugar and shortning. Ick. What the hell is up with that, people?

20. I fully bonded with a stranger over buttercream frosting at the last wedding I attended. I was walking past a table and I heard a woman say "now THAT'S buttercream frosting." We hung out for the next 2 hours.

21. Despite my fondness for Amanda Quick books, I pretty much hate romance novels. I think they're cloying, trite, and ridiculous.

22. I used to read voraciously, frequently reading 5 or more books in concurrence. When I was in 5th grade, my school had a reading contest. I read over 600 pages more than the next closest reader.

23. Though I still love to read, I almost never do anymore. :(

24. My favorite person to ever have waited tables on was June Lockhart. She is also my favorite table-waiting story, ever.

25. Ever since I was Peppermint Patty in Snoopy!, I color my hair to be more auburn.

26. I really like candles. They're not only pretty, they're relaxing.

27. I used to write copious amounts of poetry. Now it's really hard to pony up a single verse.

28. My poetry only rhymes when it's whimsical. I don't actually like rhyming poetry all that much.

29. My favorite poet is ee cummings. I also like Pablo Neruda's love poetry. The lyrical poets are really my favorites.

30. When I was in school, the poem I hated most in all the world was John Keats' "When I have fears that I may cease to be." I still don't like it.

31. For some reason, I always think Yeats wrote it. I don't know why - I like Yeats.

32. My most hated reading assignment in all of school was Walden. I went to so many schools I had to read it 3 times.

33. I think Thoreau was pretty much a windbag.

34. I believe when you die, if you go to hell, you spend eternity on the LA freeways during rush hour, in the scorching heat with no air conditioning, reading Walden.

35. I hate writing the jewelry descriptions on my site. It's an utterly ridiculous chore, and I feel like an idiot doing it. Sometimes I write something and think I can not believe I just wrote something that unbelievably cheesy.

36. I like breaking things when I'm mad.

37. When I was 7, my brother slammed a window on my hands and then held it down on them, so I ripped them out from beneath the sash and then put both fists thru the glass. I thought his head was going to explode, he started screaming for my mom so hard. He knew if I got hold of him, he was freakin' toast. My mother, of course, freaked out. You'd think she'd never seen a broken window before.

38. I'm not all that sure there are more than 139 interesting things about me. For that matter, I'm not sure there are 139 interesting things about me.

39. I used to be a gigantic letter writer. As in, I wrote lots of letters, not that they were all that particularly large.

40. I knew what TB looked like 8 years before I met him.

41. I like to color.

42. When I was in kindergarten, I would not share my crayons with the other kids, because they always held them too tightly and broke them. My teacher had a conference with my mother, who said that I did not have to lend my crayons to people who broke them. I love my mom for that.

43. I made Billy Crystal laugh once. :)

44. When I was really little, I had a crush on Glen Campbell. I used to sit in front of the tv and blow him kisses.

45. Also when I was little, I used to walk around singing Figaro in a male opera voice similar to that used in the Bugs Bunny cartoon The Rabbit of Seville.

46. My mother used to shake her head and say, "You are a very strange child." I suppose she was right.

47. I have embraced my inner geek. Sometimes I take it out for pizza.

48. My favorite things about TB are his laugh, the corny jokes he tells, and the look on his face as he tells them.

49. I feel a sense of accomplishment every time I make him really laugh. If you knew him, you would, too.

50. I am not good at remembering to water my plants.

51. I have way too damn many plants.

52. I have some of my grandfather's plaid shirts, which I wear as light jackets. They are like little hugs from my grampa.

53. I was afraid of that same grampa when I was little, because he was very big and had a booming voice and was very gruff. Now I wish I hadn't been.

54. I like crickets and do not kill them.

55. When I was a kid, I would catch crickets and frogs. Now there's no way in hell.

56. I was once terrorized by a 4 year old I was babysitting, who caught a treefrog while I was out of the room for 5 minutes and then chased after me for hours, trying to throw it on me.

57. I think children are vicious.

58. Not really. That was just for comic effect. I admit it was lame. Move on.

59. My favorite knock knock jokes are impatient cow and interrupting cow. I made up impatient cow, based on interrupting cow, and tell them back to back, starting with interrupting cow. I laugh so hard I can hardly speak, the entire time.

60. My favorite story jokes are the one about the 12" pianist and God sending the drowning guy 2 boats and a helicopter. I also really like the one where the policeman is taking up a collection so Bush can pour gas on himself and light it.

61. I am 5'6-3/4" tall, but in theatre, if you are any increment over an inch at all, you get to say you are the next inch up, so I get to say I am 5'7 at auditions...5'9, in character shoes.

62. I drew the logo for my website myself. Oo. Ah.

63. I hate Wheat Thins.

64. I hate meditating. It makes me tense.

65. I like rock climbing a lot. It's very empowering and relaxing.

66. I also really like fencing.

67. My favorite television shows at the moment are Angel and Alias. I am also very fond of The West Wing. I used to like Gilmore Girls a lot too, but it's not as good since Rory went off to Yale. And what is UP with Ling getting kicked out?

68. Paris Geller is my favorite Gilmore Girls character. Lisa Weil cracks me up.

69. I should be listed on imdb.com, but I am not. Stupid IMDB.

70. I think the most useful sites on the web are imdb.com, dictionary.com, and the Dead People Server (dpsinfo.com). And Google.

71. I learned to ride horseback when I was 5. I didn't stop riding regularly until I was 16.

72. I do not like caviar, candied fish, anchovies, or foie gras. I will never again eat raw squid, cooked octopus, brussels sprouts, lima beans, liver, or okra in any form.

73. I am not even the least bit interested in trying snails. Or, for that matter, grasshoppers. You can pretty much strike frog legs off the list too.

74. Clearly, I will never be a contestant on Survivor.

75. I hate being even a tiny bit overweight.

76. Apparently, I hate working out even more.

77. Have I mentioned I hate "reality" television? Doesn't matter if I have; it bears repeating.

78. My favorite character I think I've ever written is a strongarm man for a wizard named Balthazar. His name is Rupert.

79. I think I also did a nice job with God.

80. I have never been "saved," nor do I see any reason to be.

81. I don't understand people who think you have to be "saved" to be a christian. HUH?

82. I don't like or trust people who wear their christianity like it's some kind of garment for outward show. I think they're hypocrites and liars. Hello, Mr. President.

83. I'm pretty sure the FBI has a nice thick dossier on me by now.

84. I don't wear turtleneck sweaters.

85. I wish I dressed more hiply than I do.

86. I wish I had better hair.

87. I love L'Occitane. My favorite scent - at least at the moment, is the Rose Poivre.

88. I have been to France, Canada, Mexico, Baja Mexico, Japan, and Hawaii, as well as most of the states in these here united ones.

89. I was supposed to go to England, Greece, Spain and Italy at various times in my life. They didn't pan out.

90. I've actually been to Canada twice, Mexico many times, and on two different islands in Hawaii (Oahu and Kauai).

91. I'd like go to a lot more places and definitely most of Europe.

92. I love the ideals America was founded on. I just wish she was a much better representative of them.

93. I am very glad this list is almost over, since it's taken a lot longer than the first 101 Things list I did and has been a lot harder.

94. I tend to not like bold, loud colors.

95. I guess I tend to not like bold, loud people, either.

96. I don't dislike Celine Dion.

97. When I was a kid, I could do impressions of Carol Channing, Kermit, Grover, Ernie, and Donald Duck. I can still say "hi-ho, Kermit the Frog, here" pretty much like Kermit.

98. I can not do Christopher Walken to save my life, even though we say "wow" like he does all the time at work. It's a prerequisite to sitting back in the batcave.

99. I also pretty much suck at John Wayne impressions.

100. I really miss writing and acting.

101. I love my boyfriend more than anyone in the entire world and always will. :)

Peace out,
Katie

copyright 2002 - 2005 Katie Doyle; all rights reserved
Don't even think it, punk.






*HUGS* TOTAL! give katiedoyle more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

Yesterday's News - Next Stop

In which Katie shares sad news - Wednesday, Apr. 01, 2015
In which Katie returns after a very long absence - Monday, Jun. 25, 2012
In which Katie pokes her head in and brushes some of the cobwebs away - Thursday, May. 06, 2010
In which Katie asks you to write your congressman again. - Monday, Jun. 02, 2008
In which Katie asks you to please click the link and send the message to protect the rights of artists - Wednesday, May. 21, 2008

 

 

You're lookin at it. Archives Dear Katie... Our illustrious sponsor

Join the Katie Doyle Fan Club!
Get email when Katie updates this site.
(Secret Decoder Ring not included.)

your email:


(list name: newkatie)
Powered by
NotifyList.com


I feel/am...

The ONE campaign

[ Registered ]

Katie's Pals

L'ours Pete
Em's Blog
Jonny-C
CuppaJoe
New Kid on the Blog
That33Girlie
Metame
Reader 1209
Connie's Blog
OnlyMayDay
Owen's Blog

Other Stuff Katie Digs

All & Sundry
Pamie dot com


Official Favorite Diary of Katiedoyle.diaryland.com

Cavort, cavort, my kingdom for a cavort
Proud Supporter of
International Cavorting Day
Since 2002

Dragonfly Design - Natural & Crystal Jewelry and Adornments
jewelry


check out other d'land reads. get your own license to drive...er, write. recommend me to your friends! katie's profile notes, silly, notes!

-

1